How many local governments are there in Ogun State?

How many local governments are there in Ogun State?

Do you know your current affairs? Do you know how many local governments are in Ogun State? Here is a list of all the local governments in Ogun State for your attention.

Arial view of Abeokuta, Ogun State

Ogun State is one of the states in the South-western region of Nigeria. The state was created in 1976 and the capital city is Abeokuta. In Nigeria, each state is divided into Local Government Areas. Each Local Government Area is headed by a Local Government Council which is made up of the Local Government chairman and other elected members known as Councillors. Each Local Government Area is divided into wards and each ward is represented in the Local Government Council by a Councillor. There are twenty Local Government Areas in Ogun State.

READ ALSO: Top 10 most industrialized states in Nigeria

Ogun State Local Government Areas map

List of Local Government in Ogun state

  1. Abeokuta North Local Government.
  2. Abeokuta South Local Government.
  3. Ado-Odo/Ota Local Government.
  4. Ewekoro Local Government.
  5. Ifo Local Government.
  6. Ijebu East Local Government.
  7. Ijebu North Local Government.
  8. Ijebu North East Local Government.
  9. Ijebu Ode Local Government.
  10. Ikenne Local Government.
  11. Imeko Afon Local Government.
  12. Ipokia Local Government.
  13. Obafemi Owode Local Government.
  14. Odogbolu Local Government.
  15. Odeda Local Government.
  16. Ogun Waterside Local Government.
  17. Remo North Local Government.
  18. Sagamu Local Government.
  19. Yewa North Local Government.
  20. Yewa South Local Government.
Ogun State

Function of the Local Governments

According to the Nigerian Constitution, the functions of the Local Government include:

  • To make economic recommendations to the state government.
  • Collect taxes and fees.
  • Establish and maintain cemeteries, burial grounds, and home for destitutes.
  • License bicycles, trucks, carts, canoes and wheelbarrows.
  • Establish, maintain, and regulate markets, motor parks, and public conveniences.
  • Construct and maintain roads, street, drains, parks, and other public spaces (those located in the wards and local government).
  • The numbering of houses and naming of streets and roads.
  • Provide, maintain, and regulate public transportation and refuse management in the LGA.
  • Registration of births, marriages, and deaths.
  • Control and regulate outdoor advertising, the movements and keeping of all kinds of shops and kiosk, restaurants and other food selling outlet or stores to the public.
  • Assessing privately owned buildings and levying such rates that have been prescribed and approved by the State House of Assembly.
Olumo Rock

We hope you have found the information about the Local Government in Ogun State interesting and have learned the functions of the Local Government Areas. Don't forget to share the information with your friends.

READ ALSO: Richest local governments in Nigeria - Top 5

Source: News

Mailfire view pixel