Nasarawa State avatar

Nasarawa State

  • Current Governor: Engr. Abdullahi A. Sule
  • Founded: October 1, 1996
  • Area: 26,256 km2
  • Capital: Lafia
  • Geopolitical Zone: North Central
  • HD1 (2021): 0.575; medium, 19 of 37
  • ISO 3166 code: NG-NA
  • Population: 2.5 million
  • Postal Code: 962001
  • Official Website
  • Slogan: Home of Solid Minerals


Nasarawa state is located in the North Central region of Nigeria. It is bordered to the east by the states of Taraba and Plateau, to the north by Kaduna State, to the south by the states of Kogi and Benue, and to the west by the Federal Capital Territory. The state was formed from the west of Plateau State on 1 October 1996.


Of the 36 states of Nigeria, Nasarawa is the fifteenth largest in area and second least populous with an estimated population of about 2.5 million as of 2016.


  1. Abdullahi Ibrahim (Military Administrator): 7 October 1996 - August 1998
  2. Bala Mande (Military Administrator): August 1998 - May 1999
  3. Abdullahi Adamu (PDP Governor): 29 May 1999 - 29 May 2007
  4. Aliyu Akwe Doma (PDP Governor): 29 May 2007 - 29 May 2011
  5. Umaru Tanko Al-Makura (CPC/ANPP Governor): 29 May 2011 - May 2019
  6. Abdullahi Sule (APC Governor): May 2019 - present


Nasarawa State University is located in Keffi, Nigeria. It was established under the Nasarawa State Law No. 2 of 2001 as passed by the State House of Assembly under the first democratically elected Governor of Nasarawa State, Governor (Dr.) Abdullahi Adamu but was born and sited in February 2002, at the defunct College of Arts, Science and Technology (CAST), Keffi.

Related articles

Labaran MakuAbdullahi AdamuAbdullahi Sule
Online view pixel