Edo State avatar

Edo State

  • Current governor: Godwin Obaseki
  • Founded: August 27, 1991
  • Area: 19,559 km²
  • Capital: Benin City
  • Geopolitical Zone: South South
  • HDI (2021): 0.627; medium · 12th of 37
  • ISO 3166 code: NG-ED
  • Population: 3.2 million
  • Postal Code: 300001
  • Official Website
  • Slogan: Heart Beat of Nigeria

Edo State, Nigeria

Edo State is situated in the South-South region of Nigeria and shares borders with Kogi State to the northeast, Anambra State to the east, Delta State to the southeast and south, and Ondo State to the west.


In 2006, the population of Edo State was recorded as 3,233,366 people. The state’s population was expected to reach about 8,000,000 in 2022.


Here is a list of governors of Edo State, Nigeria:

  1. John E. K. Odigie Oyegun: Governor (January 1992 - November 1993) SDP
  2. Colonel Bassey Asuquo: Administrator (9 December 1993 - 22 August 1996)
  3. Colonel Mohammed Abul-Salam Onuka: Administrator (22 August 1996 - August 1998)
  4. Group Captain Baba Adamu Iyam: Administrator (August 1998 - May 1999)
  5. Chief Lucky Igbinedion: Governor (29 May 1999 - 29 May 2007) PDP
  6. Professor Oserheimen Osunbor: Governor (29 May 2007 - November 2008) PDP
  7. Comrade Adams Aliyu Oshiomhole: Governor (12 November 2008 - November 2016) ACN/APC
  8. Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki: Governor (12 November 2016 - Incumbent) APC/PDP


Edo State was created on August 27, 1991, when the former Bendel State was divided into Edo State and Delta State. The modern borders of Edo State encompass a region that was once home to various empires and kingdoms formed in the 11th century AD, including the Benin Empire. The ancient city of Edo, now known as Benin City, was home to some of the largest artworks in the world.


Edo State is home to several universities, including the University of Benin and Ambrose Alli University.

Postal Code

The postal code for Edo State is 300001.

Related articles

BeninAdams OshiomholeAPCPDPGodwin Obaseki
Online view pixel