Super Eagles avatar

Super Eagles

  • Head coach: José Peseiro
  • Captain: Ahmed Musa
  • Arena/Stadium: Moshood Abiola National Stadium
  • Association: Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)
  • Confederation: CAF (Africa)

The Super Eagles are the senior national football team of Nigeria. They represent the country in international competitions and are governed by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).


The team played its first official game in October 1949, while still a British colony. The team was known among the West African nations at the time as the “Red Devils” due to their red shirts.

The team’s first major success was a gold medal in the 2nd All-Africa games in 1973, with 3rd-place finishes in the 1976 and 1978 African Cup of Nations to follow. In 1980, with players such as Segun Odegbami and Best Ogedegbe, the team, led by Christian Chukwu, won the African Cup for the first time in Lagos.

The Super Eagles have qualified for six of the last eight FIFA World Cups, missing only the 2006 and 2022 editions. They have reached the round of 16 on three occasions.


Three-time Africa Cup of Nations winners, with their most recent title in 2013.

In April 1994, the Nigerian national football team was ranked 5th in the FIFA rankings, the highest FIFA ranking position ever achieved by an African football team.

Nigeria Olympic men’s football team won the football event at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta, beating Mexico, Brazil and Argentina in the process.


Three NFL championships (1948, 1949, and 1960) and one Super Bowl (2018).


Some of the key players in the current squad include:

  1. Victor Osimhen
  2. Kelechi Iheanacho
  3. Wilfred Ndidi
  4. Alex Iwobi
  5. Samuel Chukwueze

Related articles

Online view pixel