Gombe State avatar

Gombe State

  • Current Governor: Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya
  • Founded: October 1, 1996
  • Area: 18,768 km2
  • Capital: Gombe
  • Geopolitical Zone: North East
  • HD1 (2021): 0.408; low, 34 of 37
  • ISO 3166 code: NG-GO
  • Population: 3.2 million
  • Postal Code: 760001
  • Official Website
  • Slogan: Jewel In The Savannah

Gombe State, Nigeria

Gombe State is located in the northeastern region of Nigeria and is bounded by Borno State to the east, Adamawa State to the south, Taraba State to the southwest, Bauchi State to the west, and Yobe State to the north. The state was created on October 1, 1996, from part of the old Bauchi State by the Sani Abacha military government.


As of 2016, Gombe State had an estimated population of about 3.2 million, making it Nigeria's thirty-first most populous state.


Gombe State has had several governors since its creation in 1996. Here is a list of administrators and governors of Gombe State:

  1. Joseph Orji, Administrator, October 1996 - August 1998
  2. Mohammed Idris Bawa, Administrator, August 1998 - May 1999
  3. Abubakar Habu Hashidu, Governor, May 1999 - May 2003
  4. Mohammed Danjuma Goje, Governor, May 2003 - May 2011
  5. Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, Governor, May 2011 - May 2019
  6. Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya, Governor, May 2019 - present

Postal Code

The postal code for Gombe town, the capital city of Gombe State, is 760001. However, each town within the state has its unique postal code.


Gombe State is home to several universities, including:

  • Gombe State University (GSU) located in Tudun Wada
  • Federal University Kashere
  • Jewel University, Gombe State
  • PEN Resource University, Gombe

Related articles

APCIbrahim DankwamboMuhammad Inuwa
Online view pixel