Bayelsa Governorship Election 2023: List of 16 Candidates and Their Political Parties

Bayelsa Governorship Election 2023: List of 16 Candidates and Their Political Parties journalist Esther Odili has over two years of experience covering political parties and movements.

Bayelsa state, Yenagoa - In Bayelsa state, 15 candidates and political parties will be slugging it out with Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Saturday, November 11 governorship election.

Bayelsa election 2023, APC, PDP, LP, INEC, Douye Diri
Gov Diri will slug it out with 15 other candidates including Sylva and Eradiri, in the November 11, 2023 poll. Photo credit: Timipre Marlin Sylva, Douye Diri, Udengmobofa Eradiri
Source: Facebook

Diri's major rivals, former governor and the immediate minister of state for petroleum, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Udengmobofa Eradiri of the Labour Party (LP), alongside 13 others, will wrestle power on Saturday to determine the next leader.

INEC releases list of candidates for Bayelsa election

Less than twenty-four hours before the poll, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has compiled a list of the 16 major contenders vying for the post of the governorship seat and battling with Diri to lead the state in the next four years.

Read also

2023 governorship election: 5 Key political facts about Imo state

The complete list compiled by INEC reads thus:

1. Governor: Idikio Warmate Jones (Accord Party)

Deputy governor: Owo Desmond Inodu

2. Governor: Bufumoh Akpoebi Alex (Action Alliance Party)

Deputy Governor: Okoya Ledebi Lilian

3. Governor: Kalango Stanley Davies (African Democratic Congress ADC)

Deputy governor: Obesi Otasome Benjamin

4. Governor: Oguara Nengimonyo (ADP)

Deputy governor: Omonibo Angonimi

5. Governor: Sylva Timipre Marlin (All Progressives Congress)

Deputy governor: Maciver Joshua

6. Governor: Subiri Waibodei Joseph (APGA)

Deputy governor: Lott Kime Thompson

7. Governor: Osharikeni Saturday (APM)

Deputy governor: Ugbenbo Woyindeinyefa

8. Governor: Ogege Kemelayefa Mercy (APP)

Deputy governor: Leigh Robertson Kirk

9. Governor: Ben Victor Magbodo (Boot Party BP)

Deputy governor: Ineinei Ebiowei Major

10. Governor: Eradiri Udengmobofa (Labour Party)

Deputy governor: Nathus Benjamin

11. Governor: Azebi Bestman Ayabeke (New Nigeria Peoples Party)

Read also

Facts to know about Udengs Eradiri, LP governorship candidate in Bayelsa state

Deputy governor: Ganagana Ebimowei

12. Governor: Micah Akeems

Deputy governor: Ziprebo Pius Emomotimi

13. Governor: Diri Douye (PDP)

Deputy governor: Ewhrudjakpo Oborawharievwo Lawrence

14. Governor: Ozato Erepadei Erepadei (PRP)

Deputy governor: Okala Azibola

15. Governor: Osuluku Binalayefa (SDP)

Deputy governor: Doibo Ebinabo

16. Governor: Simeon Imomotimi Karioru (ZLP)

Deputy governor: Josiah Famvie

Gov Diri boasts about second tenure

Earlier, reported that Governor Douye Diri said the people would re-elect him for a second tenure on Saturday, November 11, in the Bayelsa governorship election.

Diri said Bayelsans would vote for him again because of his performance in the last four years.

He stated this at the grand finale of his campaign at the Oxbow Lake Pavilion in Yenagoa on Tuesday, November 7.

Bayelsa elections: GEJ unveils preferred candidate

Meanwhile, reported that the former president, Goodluck Jonathan, revealed his preferred candidate for the November 11 governorship election in Bayelsa state.

Jonathan backed Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party for a second tenure because of the stability of the state.


Esther Odili avatar

Esther Odili (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Esther Odili is a journalist and a Politics/Current Affairs Editor at with 6+ years of experience. Before joining, Esther has worked with other reputable media houses, such as the New Telegraph newspaper and Galaxy Television. She Holds OND and HND in Mass Communication from NIJ, where she was recognized as the best student in print journalism in 2018. Email:

Online view pixel