2023 Governorship Election: 5 Key Political Facts About Imo State

2023 Governorship Election: 5 Key Political Facts About Imo State

Imo state, Owerri - Imo state nicknamed the "Eastern Heartland is one of the five south-east states in Nigeria. It has 27 local government areas and is divided into three senatorial zones.

Here are some critical political facts about one of the oldest states in Imo Nigeria.

Key political facts about Imo state
Governorship Election: 7 civilian governors, other political facts about Imo State Photo Credit: Hope Uzodimma
Source: Facebook

State creation

Imo State was created in 1976, after the Nigerian Civil War by the late military head of state, Murtala Muhammed.

It was carved out of the defunct East Central State and derived its name from the Imo River.

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

In 1991, the federal government split off part of the state to create Abia and another part became Ebonyi State in 1996, according to Vanguard.

Read also

Imo 2023 guber: Tinubu's aide blasts NLC president Ajaero, accuses him of playing partisan politics

Seven democratically elected governors

Seven civilian governors have run the affairs of the state since its creation.

  • Samuel Onunaka Mbakwe – a member of the Nigerian Peoples Party (NPP) was governor from 1979 to 1983 in the Second Republic
  • Evan Enwerem of the National Republican Convention (NRC) was the governor from 1992 to 1993 in the Third Republic
  • Achike Udenwa – Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from 1999-2007
  • Ikedi G. Ohakim won the election under the platform of the Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA) and defected to the PDP. He was governor from 2007 to 2011
  • Owelle Rochas Anayo Okorocha became the governor under the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) platform bit later merged to form APC. Okorocha was governor from 2011-2019
  • Emeka Ihedioha – The PDP governor was in office for less than a year before the Supreme Court sacked him and declared Uzodimma as the winner of the 2019 election. He was in office from May 29, 2019, to January 20, 2020
  • Hope Uzodinma - the APC candidate became governor after the Supreme Court judgement that sacked Ihedioha.

Read also

Imo governorship election: Uzodimma, Achonu absent as candidates sign peace accord, details emerge

Nine military governors

  • Ndubuisi Kanu
  • Adekunle Lawal
  • Sunday Ajibade Adenihun
  • Ike Nwachukwu
  • Allison Amakoduna Madueke
  • Amadi Ikwechegh
  • Anthony E. Oguguo
  • James N.J. Aneke
  • Tanko Zubairu

Court sacked a Governor

The Supreme Court sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP on January 20, 2020, and ordered INEC to declare Uzodimma as the winner of the 2019 election.

Off-Cycle governorship election

Imo state is one of the seven states that vote during the off-cycle governorship election.

Come On Saturday, November 11, Imolites will storm their various polling units to vote for their choice of candidate for the next four years.

Also, two Imo governors changed party while in office - Ohakim from PPA to PDP and Okorocha from APGA to PDP.

Imo guber election 2023: List of academic credentials Uzodimma, others submitted to INEC

Meanwhile, Legit.ng reported that Uzodimma and the 16 other governorship candidates have submitted their academic credentials to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as proof of their experience and educational qualifications.

As published on the INEC website, these are the credentials the 17 Imo gubernatorial candidates submitted to INEC.

Source: Legit.ng

Adekunle Dada avatar

Adekunle Dada (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Adekunle Dada is a journalist with over 5 years of working experience in the media. He has worked with PM News, The Sun and Within Nigeria before joining Legit.ng as a Politics/Current Affairs Editor. He holds a B.Sc. in Mass Communication from Lagos State University (LASU). He can be reached via adekunle.dada@corp.legit.ng.