7 New States to be Created Pass First Reading at NASS, Full List Emerges

7 New States to be Created Pass First Reading at NASS, Full List Emerges

Since the beginning of President Bola Tinubu's administration, the National Assembly appeared to be working towards making a significant change in the constitutional amendment process, particularly the creation of new states in the southern part of the country.

Though there has been a constitutional amendment since the return of democracy in 1999, the 10th assembly seems to be making moves for a big difference and setting big records with the agitation for creating new states.

Adada, Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, Ife-Ijesha, Etiti, Orlu and Anioma are the seven proposed new states in the 10th National Assembly
Ogun state hosted Nigerian governors of the Southern Governors’ Forum. Photo Credit: @DapoAbiodunCON
Source: Twitter

On its part, the federal government is also moving to set some records that Nigerians will forever point to as President Tinubu's legacies, such as the Lagos to Calabar coastal highway and the move for local government autonomy.

If all these could be achieved within one term, four years of Tinubu's administration, then the tenth assembly and the president would have something to be remembered for because most of these things were last done by the military.

Read also

Tension as Hyena escapes from Jos wildlife park in Plateau

Seven new states have been proposed at the National Assembly, both in the Senate and the House of Representatives.

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

Below are the new states:

Oke-Ogun state

The proposed Oke-Ogun state will be carved out of the present Oyo state. It comprises 12 local government areas, which are: Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

The bill for the creation of the Oke-Ogun, Ijebu and Ife-Ijesha states was sponsored by Honourable Oluwole Oke, a lawmaker representing the people of Obokun/Oriade federal constituency in Osun state, is the chairman of the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Ijebu state

Like the Oke-Ogun state, Ijebu state was also sponsored by Honourable Oke in the lower chamber. Ijebu state, as proposed, will be carved out of the present Ogun state. It comprises nine local government areas: Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, and some parts of the Ogun state capital, Abeokuta (partially).

Read also

Rivers crisis thickens as pro Wike, Fubara lawmakers hold parallel sittings

The proposed Ijebu state is situated in southwestern Nigeria, bordering Lagos State to the west and Ondo state to the east. The region is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and economic importance.


Another state the Osun lawmaker proposed is Ife-Ijesha, which would be carved out of the present Osun state.

The proposed state comprises nine local government areas: Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, and Ilesa West.

Adada state

The Nigerian Senate has taken the first step towards creating a new state, Adada, by passing a bill for the first reading on July 2. The bill, sponsored by Senator Okey Ezea, aims to amend the country's constitution to create a new state from the existing Enugu North senatorial district.

The proposed Adada state would comprise six local government areas: Igbo-Eze North, Igbo-Eze South, Udenu, Nsukka, Igga, and Uzo-Uwani. Nsukka, a major urban centre in Enugu state, would serve as the new state's capital.

Read also

“How Atiku, Obi, Kwankwaso, others can defeat Tinubu in 2027”: Ex-APC NWC vice chairman Lukman spills

Etiti state

This is another new state in the southeast region proposed on Tuesday, July 2. The House held the first reading of the bill seeking to establish the new state, which was sponsored by five lawmakers: Miriam Onuoha, Chinwe Nnabuife, Amobi Ogah, Anayo Onwuegbu, and Kama Nkemkama.

According to the bill, the proposed Etiti state will be carved out of the five southeast states, namely Ebonyi, Enugu, Anambra, Abia, and Imo.

Other proposed new states in southeast region

Other new states under proposal at the National Assembly are Orlu and Anioma. The former will have 28 local government areas, while the latter will have nine.

Senate in close-door session over Wike's budget

Legit.ng earlier reported that the Senate went into a closed-door session following Senator Ireti Kingibe's question on why the FCT budget was raised without her input.

Kingibe and the FCT minister, Nyesom Wike, have been at odds over the runnings of FCT affairs, and the latter has vowed to unseat her in 2027.

Read also

Jubilation as government declares fresh public holiday

Senate President Godswill Akpabio also talked down the senator, asking Wike to ignore her during a flag-off ceremony at Kugbo Bus Terminal in the FCT.

Proofreading by Nkem Ikeke, journalist and copy editor at Legit.ng.

Source: Legit.ng

Bada Yusuf avatar

Bada Yusuf (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Yusuf Amoo Bada is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over 7 years of experience in journalism and writing. He is a graduate of OAU, and holds Diploma in Mass Comm. and BA in Literature in English. He has obtained certificates in Leadership and received the "Certificate for Breakthrough of the Year 2022" in recognition of his great performance during his first year at Legit.ng. Worked as Editor with OperaNews. Contact: bada.yusuf.amoo@corp.legit.ng or call 08161717844