2023 Governorship Election Result: List of Top 5 Governors-Elect With Lowest Winning Votes Emerges

2023 Governorship Election Result: List of Top 5 Governors-Elect With Lowest Winning Votes Emerges

  • The March 18 governorship and state house of assembly election turned out to be historic in Nigeria's political space
  • Following the declaration of the winners of the governorship poll, the ruling APC lost some states, the leading opposition party, PDP, gained little strength, while the emerging Labour Party recorded a victory
  • However, despite the intrigues of the election, some states recorded a lower number of voters, and at least five states have been compiled

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the March 18 governorship election winners in 26 states while declaring Adamawa and Kebbi results inconclusive.

However, some candidates were declared the winners of the governorship polls in their states with the lowest number of votes due to the low turnout of voters.

Peter Mbah/Alex Otti/Ogbu Kefas/PDP/APC/Labour Party/2023 Election/Southeast/Taraba
Names of Governors-elect with low winning votes Photo Credit: Ogbu Kefas
Source: Twitter

The top five states are listed below:

Peter Mbah, Enugu

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the governorship election in Enugu was declared the winner after polling 160,895 votes to defeat his Labour Party counterpart and closest rival, Chijioke Edeoga, who scored 157,552 votes.

Read also

BREAKING: INEC fixes new date for outstanding elections

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

The difference between the winner's votes and the first runner-up was 3,343. From the statistics, the state recorded the lowest voter turnout in the poll.

Alex Otti, Abia

INEC declared Alex Otti, the candidate of the Labour Party in the governorship election in Abi state, as the poll winner after garnering 175,466 votes.

Otti defeated the candidate of the PDP, Okechukwu Ahiwe, who scored 88,526 votes in the election. Abia is second to the last state with a low turnout of voters.

Francis Nwifuru, Ebonyi

Ebonyi state is one of the top states with low voter turnout, where the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Francis Nwifuru, was declared the winner with 199,131 votes.

Read also

Fresh trouble for Atiku, Obi, others as INEC earmarks over N3bn to tackle them In court

Nwifuru defeated the candidates of the PDP and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in the keenly contested governorship election.

Agbu Kefas (Rtd), Taraba

Another state on the list is Taraba state, where Agbus Kefas of the PDP scored 257,926 votes to defeat Muhammad Yahaya of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), who scored 202,277 votes.

Coming third position in the race is Emmanuel Bwacha, the APC candidate who garnered 142,502 votes.

Bassey Otu, Cross River

Bassey Otu, the candidate of the APC in the March 18 governorship election in Cross River, was declared winner of the poll after scoring 258,619 votes ahead of his PDP counterpart, Sandy Onor, who garnered 179,636 votes.

Cross River is one of the oil-producing states in Nigeria but recorded low voter turnout in the March 18 governorship and state house of assembly election.

Read also

2023 guber: Top political analyst reveals real reason why Simon Lalong lost Plateau election to PDP

"We will make our decision known”: PDP reacts to court order removing Ayu

Legit.ng, in another development, reported that PDP has responded to the court order stopping its national chairman, Iyorchia Ayu, from parading as the party leader.

Debo Ologuagba, the spokesperson of the party, disclosed that the party would obey the ruling as soon as it received its copy of the court order.

Meanwhile, the spokesperson of the PDP PCC, Charles Aniagwu, blames Governor Wike of Rivers state for the crisis rocking the party in Benue.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel