Breaking: Senate Approves Appointment of President Bola Tinubu's Service Chiefs

Breaking: Senate Approves Appointment of President Bola Tinubu's Service Chiefs

  • The Senate has confirmed President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s nomination of service chiefs after he sacked the former commanders
  • The Chief of Defence Staff nominee, Major General Christopher Musa, and the other officers nominated as service chiefs appeared before the senate in Abuja
  • Major-General Christopher Musa and other officers had a behind-closed-door screening session with the federal lawmakers

Unlock the best of on Pinterest! Subscribe now and get your daily inspiration!

FCT, Abuja - The Senate on Thursday, July 13, confirmed the appointment of Major General Christopher Musa as Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) after a three-hour closed-door screening session.

The Senate, led by Senator Godswill Akpabio, also confirmed the nomination of other service chiefs as transmitted to them by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for confirmation, The Nation reported.

Bola Tinubu/Latest about Bola Tinubu/service chiefs
The service chiefs named by President Bola Tinubu can now fully focus on work after the senate ratified their appointments on Thursday, July 13. Photo credit: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Source: Facebook

Akpabio-led senate okays appointment of Major General Lagbaja and other service chiefs

Read also

BREAKING: Court Gives Verdict on Godwin Emefiele's Case, Reveals What DSS Must Do within 7 days

The service chiefs confirmed by the senate include Major-General Taoreed Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff, Vanguard newspaper also reported.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Tinubu had on Tuesday, July 11, urged the senate to screen and confirm the CDS and other service chiefs' nominees for substantive appointments. Now the red chamber has heeded.

Prior to the confirmation, the service chiefs went into a closed-door session where the lawmakers engaged them from 12:42 pm to 3:00 pm.

Upon arrival on the floor of the house, their presence was acknowledged through a motion moved by the senate majority leader, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele.

The Ekiti lawmaker encouraged his colleagues to consider the request of President Bola Tinubu on the confirmation of the nomination of service chiefs.

Read also

Governor Zulum appoints Jonathan's ex-minister as Borno SSG

The senate gave two minutes each to the CDS and the service chiefs to introduce themselves before the chamber went behind closed doors at 12:42 pm.

It was at the session that their appointments were confirmed.

The full list of the confirmed service chiefs are:

Maj. Gen. C.G Musa, Chief of Defence Staff

Maj. Gen. T. A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff

Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff

AVM H.B Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff

DIG Kayode Egbetokun, Acting Inspector-General of Police

Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye, Chief of Defence Intelligence

Senate commences screening, confirmation of CDS, service chiefs

Earlier, reported that the Senate commenced the screening of Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Christopher Musa, and Service Chiefs, including Major General Taoreed Lagbaja; Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.

Read also

Kanu, J Martins, 28 others on complete list of Governor Alex Otti's fresh appointments

Senate President Godswill Akpabio read the letter during plenary on Tuesday, July 11.

President Tinubu had appointed the service chiefs on Monday, June 19.


Ridwan Adeola avatar

Ridwan Adeola (Current Affairs Editor) Ridwan Adeola Yusuf is a Current Affairs Editor at and a certified journalist with over 9 years of experience. He edited Politics Nigeria's articles, was the Acting Editor of AllNews Nigeria and Fact-Checking Researcher (Africa Check). He received his HND in Mass Communication from The Polytechnic Ibadan. He received a Certificate of Achievement (Journalism Clinic’s Fix The Leak masterclass, 2021) and also completed Google News Initiative's Advance digital reporting curriculum. Contact him at

Online view pixel