List of APC, PDP Governors Who Have Won At Court of Appeal So Far

List of APC, PDP Governors Who Have Won At Court of Appeal So Far

The aftermath of the 2023 general election in Nigeria has seen many politicians coming in and going out of the courtroom to seek redress at various levels. journalist Bada Yusuf is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over seven years of experience in journalism and writing.

It is a common practice in Nigerian politics that after every election, the courts, from the tribunal to the Supreme Court, are busy with several election petitions.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu/Inuwa Yahaya/Peter Mbah/Abdullahi Sule/Bassey Otu/Lagos/Gombe/Enugu/Nasarawa/Cross River/APC/PDP/Court of Appeal
Names of governors Court of Appeal has freed so far Photo Credit: Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Abdullahi Sule, Peter Mbah
Source: Twitter

At the moment, the travail is over at the governorship election petition tribunal, and guber candidates are now at the court of appeal.

While the appellate court has sacked some governors, some have secured victories. Below is the list of governors who have won at the Court of Appeal so far:

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through!

Read also

PDP reacts to appellate court's judgment on Nasarawa guber poll

Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and his deputy, Obafemi Hamzat, were affirmed as the authentic winner of the March 18 governorship election by the Court of Appeal sitting in the state.

The candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdulazeez Adediran and his counterpart in the Labour Party, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, have had their appeal dismissed by the Court of Appeal over lack of merit.

Inuwa Yahaya

Yahaya, the governor of Gombe and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the last governorship election in the state have also secured victory at the court of appeal sitting in Abuja.

Muhammad Barde, the candidate of the PDP in the election, has filed a petition before the court, insisting that the re-election of Governor Yahaya was not in accordance with the provision of the electoral act.

Abdullahi Sule

Read also

BREAKING: Appeal court announces date to deliver judgement on Kaduna governorship election

The governor of Nasarawa state, Abdullahi Sule, was one of the lucky governors who have been favoured by the appeal court as the court reversed his sacking on Thursday, November 23.

The Nasarawa state governorship election petition tribunal earlier sacked the governor and declared David Ombugadu of the PDP as the authentic winner of the March 18 governorship election.

Two of the three judges on the panel agreed that the governor's victory was not in line with electoral law, while a panel member disagreed. However, the lower court's decision was overturned by the court of appeal in its judgment on Thursday, November 23.

Peter Mbah

The Lagos wing of the Court of Appeal has also affirmed the victory of Peter Mbah, the PDP candidate, in the March 18 governorship election in Enugu.

The court dismissed the appeal filed by Chijioke Edeoga of the Labour Party in the election over lack of merit. It upheld the judgment of the governorship election petition tribunal that affirmed the victory of the PDP candidate.

Read also

"Congratulations" as appeal court takes final decision on PDP's suit seeking to sack Gov Yahaya

Justice Tijani Yusuf Hassan-led three-member panel stated that the Labour Party and Edeoga did not prove with evidence that the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) certificate of the governor was forged and was not qualified to take part in the election.

Bassey Otu

The Lagos division of the Court of Appeal has also affirmed the victory of Governor Otu of Cross Rivers state in the March 18 governorship election in the South-South state.

Like Mbah, the appeal of Professor Sandy Onor of the PDP was dismissed by the court over lack of merit, and the appellate court upheld the state governorship election petition tribunal's decision.

Bala Mohammed

The Abuja division of the Court of Appeal also affirmed the victory of the PDP governor at the Bauchi state governorship election petition.

In a unanimous judgment, the three-member panel of the appellate court dismissed the petition filed by the APC and its candidate in the election, Sadique Abubakar, over their failure to provide polling units where elections were allegedly rigged.

Read also

Atiku, Obi vs Tinubu: CJN Ariwoola reveals next place to file appeal after supreme court

"APC’s 'grab and run' agenda of opposition parties'": Atiku alleges earlier reported that Atiku has condemned the judgment of the Court of Appeal that sacked some opposition governors.

In a statement on Monday, Atiku accused the ruling APC of clipping the wing of the opposition and endangering democracy in the country.

According to Atiku, if the APC did not win through rigging, the ruling party used the court to take over states controlled by the opposition members.


Online view pixel