BREAKING: PDP Gets Another 'Breakfast' as Court Sacks Powerful Lawmaker

BREAKING: PDP Gets Another 'Breakfast' as Court Sacks Powerful Lawmaker

  • Musa Aggah of the PDP in the house of representatives has been sacked by the national and state assembly election petition trial tribunal sitting in high court 4 in Jos
  • The court held that Aggah was not duly nominated by the PDP and that he did not garner the highest number of votes in the February 26 bye-election
  • The court then ordered the PRP candidate, Mohammed Gwani as the valid winner of the North/Bassa federal constituency bye-election

Jos, Plateau - The national and states assembly election petition trial tribunal of the high court 4 in Jos has nullified the election of Musa Aggah of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

According to The Nation, the court took the decision on Friday, September 2.

Read also

Ice Prince: Court remands ‘Oleku’ crooner in Ikoyi Prison

Tribunal/Musa Aggah/PDP/Plateau/Jos/House of representatives
Court sacks PDP reps in Jos Photo Credit: UGC
Source: Twitter

Why court sacked PDP rep of North/Bassa federal constituency, Plateau

The tribunal, in its judgement, held that Agah was not validly nominated by the umbrella party for the Bye-election it held on February 26, earlier this year.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

The court also stated that the PDP candidate, Agah, did not garner the highest number of valid votes in the election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Aggah the winner of the Jos North/Bassa federal constituency bye-election, which was held on February 26.

Tribunal asks INEC to declare PRP's Mohammed Gwani as lawful winner of house of reps bye-election in Plateau

The sacked lawmaker polled a total of 40,343 votes before he was declared the winner by the electoral body.

Mohammed Gwani of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), who was his closest rival, garnered 37,857 votes, while Joseph Aku, who was the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came third with 26,111 votes in the bye-election.

Read also

Just in: PDP expels top party chieftain in southwest state, gives reason

But in a consensus judgement led by Justice Hope Ozoh, the tribunal chairman, and others, Justices Khadi Umar and Zainab Bashir, the tribunal said the petitioners had proved their case against Aggah beyond a reasonable doubt.

The court also ordered INEC to return Mohammed Gwani of the PRP as the valid winner of the bye-election.

2023: Full list of PDP chieftains accused of fueling Atiku/Wike’s rift earlier reported that the former governors of Ondo and Cross Rivers states have been accused of topping the list of PDP leaders, fueling the crisis between the party's presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, and the Rivers state governor, Nyeson Wike

Aside from the two ex-governors, former ministers and a senator was also accused by some stakeholders of the party for responsible for the growing tension between the two leaders

The accused chieftains are majorly the member of the reconciliation team from Governor Wike's camp for their failure to achieve the objective

Read also

BREAKING: After sacking PDP federal lawmaker, court declares winner of bye-election in northern state


Online view pixel