Buhari Asks Senate, Lawan to Confirm 19 Nominees as INEC Commissioners, Gives Reasons

Buhari Asks Senate, Lawan to Confirm 19 Nominees as INEC Commissioners, Gives Reasons

On Tuesday, July 26, President Muhammadu Buhari urged lawmakers of the Nigerian Senate to confirm 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The president in a letter dated July 25, 2022, and sent to the leadership of the Upper Chamber said that the request for the confirmation of the nominees was in accordance with the provisions of Section 154 (1) of the Nigerian Constitution.

Muhammadu Buhari, Ahmad Lawan, APC, INEC, REC nominees
Buhari in a recent letter has called for the confirmation of 19 nominees as INEC REC. Photo: Bashir Ahmad
Source: Twitter

Read by the Senate president, Ahmad Lawan on the floor of the plenary, the president in his letter explained that the nomination of five REC is for renewal, while the other 14 are fresh appointments.

The nominees listed for confirmation as RECs by the Nigerian Senate (Renewal) are:

1. Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa – Renewal);

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

Read also

Buhari nominates 19 electoral commissioners as CSOs charge senate on due diligence in screening

2. Obo Effanga (Cross River – Renewal)

3. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba – Renewal)

4. Agboke Olaleke (Ogun – Renewal)

5. Samuel Egwu, a professor, (Kogi – Renewal)

Fresh confirmation list

6. Onyeka Ugochi (Imo)

7. Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto)

8. Ayobami Salami, a professor, (Oyo)

9. Zango Abdu (Katsina)

10. Queen Agwu (Ebonyi)

11. Agundu Tersoo (Benue).

12. Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta)

13. Yahaya Ibrahim, a professor, (Kaduna)

14. Nura Ali (Kano)

15. Agu Uchenna (Enugu)

16. Ahmed Garki (FCT)

17. Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi)

18. Uzochukwu Chijioke, a professor, (Anambra)

19. Mohammed Nura (Yobe)

Full list of senators who will not be returning to Red Chamber in 2023

An assessment of the Nigerian political scene had shown that about 50 senators will likely not return to the red chamber.

Members of the upper chamber who will not return cut across the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

Newspaper review: Tinubu's running mate, can of worms for APC

Investigation revealed that many of the senators lost their primaries while a few others joined other political parties to secure their tickets.

Buhari formally writes Senate to confirm Justice Ariwoola as CJN, makes 1 other nomination

President Muhammadu Buhari had written to the senate to confirm the nomination of Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as chief justice of Nigeria.

Ariwoola has been acting chief justice since the resignation of the former CJN, who said his resignation was due to his health.

Buhari also asked the senate to confirm the nomination of Suleiman Afikpo as commissioner representing the south-east zone in the national Hajj commission.

Source: Legit.ng

Nnenna Ibeh avatar

Nnenna Ibeh Nnenna Ibeh is a journalist with over 10 years of experience with various media organisations including Premium Times. Being on the front burner of reporting politics and the different dimensions of governance, she is also passionate about girls' education and women's and children's health. With degrees in Journalism, Peace Studies & Conflict Res., and Dev. Studies, Nnenna has worked in the dev. sector as a communications officer for the Centre for Democracy and Dev. email: ibehnnenna@gmail.com

Online view pixel