APC Presidential Primaries: List of States Tinubu, Osinbajo, Others May Win

APC Presidential Primaries: List of States Tinubu, Osinbajo, Others May Win

An analytical report by The Nation has tipped Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu to win the presidential primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) slated for Tuesday, June 7, in Abuja.

According to the report, Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos state, has a nationwide recognition, reach, structure, support, endorsements, mass appeal, track record, and rich experience in both the private and public sectors.

APC Presidential Primaries, Tinubu, Osinbajo
Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu tipped to win the APC presidential primaries. Photo credit: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Source: Facebook

Tinubu who co-founded the APC along with President Buhari and other stakeholders has also mentored politicians across the country, many of who became governors, senators, and House of Representatives members, among others.

The APC leader is also said to have the backing of more governors than his rivals. This is projected to give him an edge over others as governors have a huge influence on the delegates who will be voting at the primaries.

Read also

BREAKING: APC Govs reduce proposed special aspirants list to 3, names revealed

Below is the number of states Tinubu and other aspirants are projected to win:

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu

  1. Kano
  2. Lagos
  3. Oyo
  4. Borno
  5. Sokoto
  6. Bauchi
  7. Osun
  8. Benue
  9. Ondo
  10. Edo
  11. Katsina
  12. Gombe
  13. Niger
  14. Kaduna
  15. Zamfara
  16. Adamawa

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo

  1. Ogun
  2. Nasarawa.

Yahaya Bello

  1. Kogi

Rotimi Amaechi

  1. Rivers
  2. Plateau

Senate president Ahmad Lawan

  1. Yobe
  2. Kebbi (strong)
  3. Abia
  4. Imo
  5. Ebonyi
  6. Anambra
  7. Enugu

Kayode Fayemi

  1. Ekiti
  2. Jigawa
  3. Kebbi (partially)

Godswill Akpabio

  1. Akwa Ibom

Ben Ayade

  1. Cross River

Undecided states

  1. Delta
  2. Bayelsa

Buhari approved Lawan as consensus APC candidate? President finally speaks

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has said there will be no imposition of a presidential candidate on the APC for the 2023 elections.

A statement by Garba Shehu, presidential spokesman, indicates Buhari said this on Monday, June 6, at a meeting with APC governors from the northern region.

Read also

BREAKING: Lawan dropped as northern APC govs, NWC prune presidential aspirants to 5

Senator Abdullahi Adamu, APC national chairman, had announced Senate President Ahmad Lawan as the party’s consensus candidate. He claimed he arrived at Lawan's choice based on his consultations with President Buhari. The president has, however, said he has “anointed no one”, adding that the choice of party members must be respected.

Ken Nnamani withdraws from APC presidential race

In another related development, Ken Nnamani, a former Senate president, has withdrawn from the race to clinch the presidential ticket of the ruling APC.

The former lawmaker announced his withdrawal during a meeting with journalists in Abuja on Monday, June 6.

“In the present circumstances, it does not make any sense for me to continue in the race as I have not had the opportunity to market my profile and ideas to the delegates of our party in a manner that allow for deliberation and introspection," he said.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel