2023: Southeast, South-South Groups Fault Ceding of the Presidency to Southwest

2023: Southeast, South-South Groups Fault Ceding of the Presidency to Southwest

  • There is currently ruckus in the ruling All Progressives Congress over arguments regarding zoning
  • The party had announced that the position of the national secretary will be zoned to the southwest region of the country
  • Some elements in the APC, however, believe that the south-south or southeast should get the position since the south-west is likely to get the presidential ticket

FCT, Abuja - A report by Vanguard newspaper indicates that the three zones in southern Nigeria are jostling for the presidential ticket of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC ahead of the 2023 general elections.

According to the report, rumours that the southwest zone is favoured to get the presidential ticket is already causing a stir in the ruling party at the moment.

Osinbajo and Tinubu
VP Osinbajo and Asiwaju are the two leading southwest presidential aspirants from the APC. Photo credit: Aso Rock Villa
Source: Facebook

Due to the purported arrangement, sources quoted in the report said there is intense pressure on party leaders to tinker with the zoning formula and re-zone the office of the national secretary away to the south-south.

Read also

Convention: APC has no time for gimmicks, says Mala Buni

Already, a high-ranking chieftain from the south-south is said to have met the national leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, to convince him to concede the ticket to the zone.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Legit.ng Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

APC convention: We're now united, says Mai Mala Buni

On his part, the caretaker chairman of the APC, Governor Mai Mala Buni has stated that the party's governors are now united ahead of the national convention.

Governor Buni stated this in a statement sent to Legit.ng on Wednesday, March 23 by his spokesman, Mamman Mohammed while reacting to a recent report suggesting that there is rancour among the party's governors.

He said APC governors and other critical stakeholders are now heading various sub-committees of the convention and have been having a series of meetings to ensure a successful and hitch-free exercise.

Read also

National convention: South-West governors tighten grip on APC around Buhari’s allies

Part of the statement read:

“It is irrational, absurd and irresponsible for anyone to at this moment initiate animosity and resentment among the stakeholders who are working assiduously for the success of the upcoming convention.”

National convention: I have faith in APC, says party stalwart

Similarly, Iyabo Awokoya, an APC stalwart, has declared that she has faith in the ruling party ahead of its national convention.

Writing on her Twitter page, Awokoya said:

“I have faith in the APC. My faith is in God who gave us the APC in power in 2015 and kept our party sitting tight in 2019. This God will keep us in power in 2023 despite the naysayers. 5 days to go to our convention. Pray for Nigeria, folks!”

APC chairmanship race: Borno governor declares support for Senator Akume

Meanwhile, Borno governor, Prof. Babagana Zulum has declared his support for a former governor of Benue state, Senator George Akume for the position of APC national chairman.

Read also

2023: More setback for Atiku as southwest PDP rejects ex-VP's candidacy

Professor Zulum urged APC stakeholders to rally around Akume, who is the current minister of special duties and inter-governmental affairs.

Governor Zulum also said the emergence of Akume will give Christians in the APC a sense of belonging.

Chairmanship race: APC elders pick nomination form for Akume

Recall that Senator Barnabas Gemade on Wednesday, March 16 led a group of APC elders across the country to obtain a national chairmanship nomination form for Senator Akume.

The APC elders include Shango, a former governor of Edo state, Prof. Oserheimen Osunbor and publisher, Summit newspapers, Chief Ray Murphy.

Others are a governorship aspirant, Chief Terlumun Akputu, and a former senator, Prof. Terhemba Shija, among others.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel