Trace Awards 2023: Burna Boy, Davido Go Head-to-Head as Nigeria Gets 40 Nominations, Full List Trends

Trace Awards 2023: Burna Boy, Davido Go Head-to-Head as Nigeria Gets 40 Nominations, Full List Trends

  • The nominations for the first Trace Music Awards 2023 are released, and Afrobeat artists from Nigeria dominate the list
  • According to the chairman and co-founder of Trace, Olivier Laouchez, the award show would recognise and celebrate African artists worldwide for their creativity
  • The awards would have nominees across 22 categories pulled from at least 30 countries in Africa, South America, the Caribbean and the Indian Ocean

Trace, the global powerhouse and Afro-centric music tastemaker, is set to hold its debut music award show as it releases its official list of nominees.

The music channel, during its nominee unveiling event, noted that the award show would celebrate the creativity and ingenuity of African artists, be they domiciled in Africa or the diaspora.

Photo of Africa artists
Photos of African artists nominated for the 2023 Trace Music Award. Photo credit: @tracenaija
Source: Instagram

According to the show's chairman and co-founder, Oliver Laouchez:

Read also

Coup: El-Rufai speaks on ECOWAS' plan of going to war with Niger Republic

"African and African diaspora artists are extraordinarily creative and dynamic. They represent a massive cultural force and deserve more global recognition and celebration.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

The Trace Awards’ nominations salute achievement and excellence from more than 150 performers, producers, DJs, writers, composers, directors, established artists and rising stars, and their management and labels."

The event will be held on October 21, 2023, in Kigali, Rwanda.

Nigerian artists dominated the nominees table consisting of over 40 nominations.

Afrobeat artists like Burna Boy, Davido, Tiwa Savage, Wizkid, Ayra Starr, Rema, Yemi Alade and Fireboy DML got multiple nominations.

The show, sponsored by Visit Rwanda and Martell, promises to be a fantastic ceremony.

List of some award categories

Best Male Artist

Read also

KWAM 1 elated as Pasuma, Osupa join him on stage at Alawiye's 50th birthday party, he kisses them in fun video

Asake (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Didi B (Ivory Coast)

K.O (South Africa)

Rema (Nigeria)

Best Female Artist

Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

Josey (Ivory Coast)

Nadia Mukami (Kenya)

Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Viviane Chidid (Senegal)

Song of the Year

“BKBN” – Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

“People” – Libianca (Cameroon)

“Suavemente” – Soolking (France)

“Encre” – Emma’a (Gabon)

“Sugarcane” – Camidoh (Ghana)

“Last Last” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)

“Rush” – Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

“Calm Down” – Rema (Nigeria)

“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)

“Sete” – K.O (South Africa)

“Cough” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)

“MORTEL 06” – Innoss’B (Ivory Coast)

Best Music Video

“2 Sugar” – Wizkid (Nigeria) feat. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

“Baddie” – Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

“Kpaflotage” – Suspect 95 (Ivory Coast)

“Loaded” – Tiwa Savage(Nigeria) & Asake (Nigeria)

“Ronda” – Blxckie (South Africa)

“Tombolo” – Kalash (Martinique)

Read also

Asake Live @ 02 Arena: Tiwa Savage, Olamide, Fireboy & Others storm London for singer's concert, clips trend

Yatapita” – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Best Newcomer

Azawi (Uganda)

Krys M (Cameroon)

Libianca (Cameroon)

Nissi (Nigeria)

Odumodublvck (Nigeria)

Pabi Cooper (South Africa)

Roselyne Layo (Ivory Coast)

Best Collaboration

“Many Ways” – BNXN (Nigeria) with Wizkid (Nigeria)

“Mine” – Show Dem Camp (Nigeria) with Oxlade (Nigeria)

“Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)

“Second Sermon” – Black Sherif (Ghana) with Burna Boy (Nigeria)

“Sete” – K.O (South Africa) with Young Stunna (South Africa), Blxckie (South Africa)

“Stamina” – Tiwa Savage with Ayra Starr (Nigeria) & Young Jonn (Nigeria)

“Trumpet” – Olamide (Nigeria) with Ckay (Nigeria)

“Unavailable” – Davido (Nigeria) with Musa Keys (South Africa)

Best Producer

DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)

Juls (Ghana)

Kabza de Small (South Africa)

Kel-P (Nigeria)

Tamsir (Ivory Coast)

Best Gospel Artists

Benjamin Dube (South Africa)

Janet Otieno (Kenya)

KS Bloom (Ivory Coast)

Levixone (Uganda)

Moses Bliss (Nigeria)

Album of the Year

“DNK”- Aya Nakamura (France)

Read also

"We reject it": Charly Boy says Peter Obi’s supporters won’t accept rerun poll

“Love Damini” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)

“Maverick” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)

“More Love, Less Ego” – Wizkid (Nigeria)

“Timeless” – Davido (Nigeria)

“Work of Art” – Asake (Nigeria)

Trace, Big Cabal Media, MTV Base, Hip TV, others confirmed as media partners at NECLive9

Meanwhile, reported that African creators, producers, musicians, and other proponents of the continent’s entertainment and creative industry were preparing for the ninth edition of the Nigerian Entertainment Conference (NECLive).

The conference organisers, ID Africa, have announced, Trace, Big Cabal Media, MTV Base, Hip TV and Africa Movie Channel as media partners for the conference.

NECLive will return as a hybrid event on Friday, April 29, 2022, and the media partners will provide media support through their prestigious platforms to reach millions across the continent and beyond.

Trace TV is expected to help the event reach over 20 million people watching on the respected channel and other Cable TV.


Online view pixel