ASUU avatar


  • Current President: Professor Emmanuel Osodeke
  • Founded: 1978
  • Organisation type: Trade Union
  • Headquarters: Festus lyayi Complex, University of Abuja
  • Official Social Media Pages: Official_ASUU (


The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) is a Nigerian union of university academic staff that was founded in 1978. The union is an offshoot of the Nigerian Association of University Teachers (NAUT) which was established in 1965.

ASUU Meaning

ASUU stands for the Academic Staff Union of Universities. The union represents academic staff in public universities in Nigeria and works to ensure that their interests are protected and promoted.

ASUU Chairman

Professor Biodun Ogunyemi ended his 3-year tenure as the president of the union in 2021. Emmanuel Osodeke is the current national president of the union.

ASUU Strike

ASUU has been known to use strike actions to obtain fair wages and university autonomy. The very first ASUU strike started in 1988 for equitable salary and the autonomy of the Nigerian university. This led to the ban on ASUU-related activities in 1988. In 1990, ASUU was allowed to resume, but after another strike, it was again banned on 23 August 1992.

Related articles

Nigerian Universities
Online view pixel