BayelsaDecides: Diri Maintains Strong Lead As INEC Resumes Collation, Clears 5 out of 6 LGAs

BayelsaDecides: Diri Maintains Strong Lead As INEC Resumes Collation, Clears 5 out of 6 LGAs

  • The fate of Governor Douye Diri of Bayelsa state and fifteen other candidates will be decided soon, following the Saturday, November 11 election results
  • As it stands, the INEC will on Monday, November 13, resume the collation of results for the election and announce the winner
  • But from the results announced so far in six LGAs, Diri is leading against his major rivals, Timipre Sylva of the APC and Udengs Eradiri of the LP journalist Esther Odili has over two years of experience covering political parties and movements.

Bayelsa state, Yenagoa - Governor Douye Diri has maintained an early lead as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) resumes the collation of the election results on Monday, November 13.

APC, Diri, INEC, Bayelsa election, PDP, LP, Sylva
Diri has secured five LGAs so far from the results announced. Photo credit: Douye Diri, Timipre Marlin Sylva
Source: Facebook

Diri won 5 LGAs, Sylva won 1 LGA

Read also

BREAKING: "Congratulations", Tinubu's aide messages Diri as he defeats APC in Bayelsa

Channels TV reported that Diri, the incumbent governor of the state and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), is leading against his major contenders as INEC plans to announce the poll's final results.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

Results from six of the eight local government areas in Bayelsa state have been collated as of Sunday evening, November 12, when the state's returning officer, Professor Faruq Kuta, adjourned collation till Monday noon.

Breakdown of Bayelsa governorship election results

See Bayelsa governorship election results so far:

Sagbama LGA

APC – 6608

LP – 217

PDP – 35504

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

APC – 5349

LP – 22

PDP – 18465

Ogbia LGA

APC – 16319

LP – 57

PDP – 18435

Read also

BREAKING: Diri leading with over 65,000 votes after INEC announced collation of all LGAs

Yenegoa LGA

APC – 14534

LP – 244

PDP – 37777

Nembe LGA

APC – 22248

LP – 113

PDP – 4556

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 8445

LP – 50

PDP – 23172

Bayelsa poll: Shehu Sani predicts winner

Earlier, reported that an ex-Kaduna senator, Shehu Sani, predicted the winner of the Bayelsa governorship election.

Sani said Governor Douye Diri of the PDP would emerge the winner at the end of the collation.

The former federal lawmaker disclosed this via his X page (formerly known as Twitter) @ShehuSani.

Bayelsa: PDP stretches lead as APC fumes

Meanwhile, reported also that the ruling PDP was leading in the governorship election in Bayelsa state.

Diri extended its lead by more than 90,000 votes.

However, the APC condemned alleged attempts to move the collation of Brass LGA to Yenagoa.

The APC condemned this in a statement by Felix Morka, its national publicity secretary. It accused Governor Diri and the PDP of putting pressure on INEC to move the collation of results of Brass LGA to Yenagoa, the Bayelsa capital city.


Esther Odili avatar

Esther Odili (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Esther Odili is a journalist and a Politics/Current Affairs Editor at with 6+ years of experience. Before joining, Esther has worked with other reputable media houses, such as the New Telegraph newspaper and Galaxy Television. She Holds OND and HND in Mass Communication from NIJ, where she was recognized as the best student in print journalism in 2018. Email:

Online view pixel