Off-Cycle Polls: APC Submits List of Flagbearers for Imo, Bayelsa, Kogi Governorship Election

Off-Cycle Polls: APC Submits List of Flagbearers for Imo, Bayelsa, Kogi Governorship Election

  • All is set in the ruling All Progressives Congress for the much-anticipated off-cycle gubernatorial elections slated for Saturday, November 11
  • The off-cycle polls will take place in Bayelsa, Kogi, and Imo states as the quest for new leadership builds up
  • Meanwhile, on Monday, April 17, the APC submitted its list of flagbearers for the poll to INEC

The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) has submitted its list of flagbearers for the off-cycle 2023 gubernatorial polls in Bayelsa, Kogi, and Imo states to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

As reported by Channels TV, the list was submitted to the electoral commission on Monday, April 17, as part of the guidelines in the build-up to the election.

APC Candidates
INEC has scheduled the 2023 off-cycle polls for November 11. Photo: Hope Uzodimma, Timipre Marlin Sylva, Ahmed Ododo
Source: Facebook

Who are the candidates

The list contained the name of Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo state, who won the primary election in a landslide fashion.

Read also

Binani vs Fintiri: “A show of shame”, Makinde, PDP govs react, demand Adamawa REC’s trial

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Similarly, the former minister of state for petroleum resources, Timipre Sylva, was enlisted as the flagbearer of the APC for the Bayelsa gubernatorial polls.

Ahmed Ododo, who recently won the APC primary election in Kogi state, was also included in the list as the flagbearer of the party in the state.

The off-cycle gubernatorial elections in the three states have been scheduled for Saturday, November 11, according to the INEC calendar.

Governor Uzodimma of Imo seeks a second term in office while Sylva looks to upstage the incumbent, Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

As governor, Sylva, who once ran the affairs at the State House in Yenegoa, the Bayelsa state capital, is seeking a return to complete some unfinished business.

Read also

"It was free, transparent": Democratic group speaks on Kogi APC guber primary, issues advice to contestants

Meanwhile, Ododo has been anointed by Governor Yahaya Bello as his imminent successor but would have a considerable task to displace Senator Dino Melaya of the PDP for a place at Lord Lugard's House in Lokoja.

Adamawa's APC candidate controversially declared Gov-elect, Binani, sues INEC

In another development, the APC governorship candidate in Adamawa state, Senator Aisha Dahiru Binani, was on Sunday, April 16, declared the winner of the rerun election under controversial circumstances.

The REC of Adamawa, Prof Hudu Yunus Ari, had announced the final result ahead of schedule midway into the collation, a move that has led to his suspension by INEC.

In a new move, Binani has dragged INEC to a Federal High Court in Abuja, noting the body has no power to void her declaration.


Online view pixel