BREAKING: Elephants of Cote d'Ivoire Beat Nigeria's Super Eagles to be AFCON Champion

BREAKING: Elephants of Cote d'Ivoire Beat Nigeria's Super Eagles to be AFCON Champion

  • Nigeria's Super Eagles have lost the 2023 AFCON final to the Elephants of Cote d'Ivoire in a three-goal thrilling match
  • Cote d'Ivoire, the host of the competition, had become the African champion for the third time after winning the trophy in 1992 and 2015
  • The Super Eagles failed to defend their opening goal by William Troost Ekong, and strikes from Franck Kessie and Sebastien Haller gave the winning to the Ivorians journalist Bada Yusuf is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over seven years of experience in journalism and writing.

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire - The Elephant of Cote d'Ivoire has become the winner of the 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) by defeating the Super Eagles of Nigeria with two goals to one at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium on Sunday night, February 11.

Read also

2023 AFCON: Full list of awardees as Nigeria's captain becomes best player of the tournament

The Ivory Coast hosts the 34th edition of the competition, and the final was monitored by

Super Eagles/Ivory Coast/Cote d'Ivoire/Nigeria/2023 AFCON
Cote d'Ivoire beat Nigeria, become African champion Photo Credit: Super Eagles, Ivory Coast
Source: Twitter

2023 AFCON: How Cote d'Ivoire defeated Nigeria

They defeated Nigeria with two strikes from Franck Kessie and Sebastien Haller, which saw off the opening goal by the Eagle's captain, Troost-Ekong.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria had entered the final of the competition to win the trophy for the fourth time, while the Elephants competed to win the title for the third time, having won it in 1992 and 2015.

Nigeria and Cote d'Ivoire have survived the strong Group A, with Equatorial Guinea becoming the group leader with the same points as Nigeria but with goal differences. However, the Elephant made it to the third-place team and qualified for the round 16 of the competition.

Read also

Ivory Coast Wins AFCON: After a Good Run, Nigeria Loses AFCON Finals to Host Nation

AFCON 2023: List of Nigeria's first XI

Below is the list of Super Eagles players:

  1. 23. Stanley Nwabali
  2. 5. Williams Troost-Ekong
  3. 6. Semi Ajayi
  4. 21. Calvin Bassey
  5. 3. Sanusi Zaidu
  6. 8. Frank Onyeka
  7. 17. Alex Iwobi
  8. 2. Ola Aina
  9. 18. Ademola Lookman
  10. 11. Samuel Chukwueze
  11. 9. Victor Osimhen

Read more related news here:

Nigeria vs Cote d'Ivoire: Prophet Who Correctly Predicted Tinubu's Fate Speaks About Osimhen

AFCON 2023: Breakdown of Cash Prizes Gold, Silver, Bronze Winners, Others Will Get

Wigwe: "Why Eagles Should Win AFCON Final," Peter Obi Explains, Cancels Cote d'Ivoire Trip

2023 AFCON: How Tinubu celebrates Ekong's goal earlier reported that President Bola Tinubu has been seen in a video celebrating William Troost Ekong's goal against the Elephant of Cote d'Ivoire.

The president was viewing the match with some officials in the presidential villa at the banquet hall in the state house.

Read also

Nigeria vs Cote d'Ivoire: Moment Tinubu celebrates as AFCON final reaches half time

The halftime of the match ended with a lone goal from Ekong, but the Ivorians are mounting more pressure on the Super Eagles team.


Online view pixel