BREAKING: Senate Confirms Wike, Alake, 43 Other President Tinubu's Nominees

BREAKING: Senate Confirms Wike, Alake, 43 Other President Tinubu's Nominees

  • The Senate has approved 45 of the 48 ministerial nominees of President Bola Tinubu and is, therefore, confirmed to be ministers
  • Nyesom Wike, the immediate past governor of Rivers State, and member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was among the confirmed ministers
  • Godswill Akpabio, the Senate President, put the nominations to a series of voice notes, and they were confirmed except for three of them

FCT, Abuja - The Senate has concluded the screening of 45 of the 48 ministerial nominees of President Bola Tinubu, confirming them as cabinet members after a week of intense grilling for some and cursory introductions for others.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio put the nominations to a series of voice votes, of which all but three were approved. The plenary was monitored by on NTA on Monday, August 7.

Read also

Full list emerges as Oshiomhole, Lawan, Tambuwal head Senate standing committees

Senate/Godswill Akpabio/Bola Tinubu/Ministerial Nominees/Nyesom Wike
Senate confirms President Tinubu's ministerial nominees Photo Credit: Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Source: Twitter

List of President Tinubu's ministerial nominees not confirm by Senate

The remaining nominees, including former Governor of Kaduna State Nasir El-Rufai, Stella Okotete (Delta State), and Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State), are said to still be undergoing security clearance.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

The confirmation of others comes over a week after Tinubu’s transmission of a 28-member list to the red chamber on July 27.

List of ministerial nominees confirmed by Senate

Last Monday, the Senate screened former governor of Rivers State Nyesom Wike; Abubakar Kyari of Borno State; Nkiruka Onyejeocha (Abia State); Bello Muhammad (Sokoto State); Sani Abubakar Danladi (Taraba State); and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa State).

Others are Joseph Utsev (Benue State), Olubunmi Tunji Ojo (Ondo State), Betta Edu (Cross River State), Uju Kennedy Ohaneye (Anambra State), Abubakar Momoh (Edo State), John Enoh (Cross River State), Iman Suleiman Ibrahim (Nasarawa State), and Yusuf Maitama Tuggar (Bauchi State).

Read also

Full list of ministers confirmed by senate, states, region

The Senate on Tuesday screened ex-governors Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna) and Dave Umahi (Ebonyi); Wale Edun, Uche Nnaji, Stella Okotete, Adebayo Adelabu, Ekperikpe Ekpo, Hannatu Musawa, and Musa Dangiwa.

Senate asks Tinubu to appoint auditor-general with immediate effect earlier reported that the Senate has written to President Bola Tinubu to immediately appoint an auditor-general for the federation by Section 86 of the 1999 constitution.

Senator Aliyu Wadada, chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Account, said the absence of the auditor-general for the last 10 has opened the government to mismanagement.

Wadada further explained that the absence of the auditor-general of the federation would frustrate the government's efforts in the fight against corruption.


Online view pixel