BREAKING: Winner Emerges in First Polling Unit In Ekiti Governorship Election

BREAKING: Winner Emerges in First Polling Unit In Ekiti Governorship Election

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has secured its first known victory in the ongoing governorship election in Ekiti state.

At polling unit 10, ward 10, Afao/Kajola, Abiodun Oyebanji, APC governorship candidate polled 20 votes ahead of Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who garnered two votes, Daily Trust reported.

Ekiti Governorship Election/Ekiti state
Counting of ballot papers begins at Poling Unit 2ward 4, Saint Michael primary school, Ado Ekiti.
Source: Original

No other candidate got a single vote in the polling unit.

A correspondent of the Centre for Journalism Innovation and Development (CJID) reports that accreditation of voters started at 8:30pm at the polling station.

Winners emerge in Ekiti APC, SDP governorship candidates' polling units

Meanwhile, candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) won their polling units in the ongoing Ekiti governorship election.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

Read also

Just in: Governor-elect Biodun Oyebanji releases 1st message after winning Ekiti 2022 election

While Biodun Oyebanji of the APC recorded 81 votes at Ward 3, Igede Ekiti, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bisi Kolawole, scored 23 votes while Oni had 30 votes.

A total of 140 voters were accredited out of 367 registered voters in the unit. At ward 2 unit 6, Ifaki Ekiti, where Oni voted, SDP polled a total of 218 votes.

Oni who cast his vote around 11am raised an alarm about vote-buying in the ongoing governorship election in the state. His closest rival, polled 15 votes, while Kolawole trailed with two votes.

Ekiti 2022: Winner emerges in Governor Fayemi's polling unit

Similarly, Ekiti state governor Kayode Fayemi has won his polling unit, unit 09, Ogilolo ward in Isan-Ekiti, Oye local government area for the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate, Biodun Oyebanji.

The APC scored 154 votes while the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s candidates scored three and four votes respectively.

Read also

Full list: Local government areas won by APC, PDP, others in Ekiti governorship election

The candidate of the Action Democratic Party, Kemi Elebute-Hallegot, got one vote while six votes were voided.

Winner emerges in Fayose's polling unit

Also, Bisi Kolawole, the PDP candidate in the Ekiti governorship election, has won the polling unit of Ayo Fayose, the former governor of the state.

Kolawole polled 163 votes to win the polling unit.

Result: PU 1, Ward 1, Afao-Ekiti, Irepodun/Ifelodun

PDP: 163

APC: 106

SDP: 29


Online view pixel