BREAKING: Winner Emerges in Governor Fayemi's Polling Unit as Results from Ekiti Guber Election Trickle In

BREAKING: Winner Emerges in Governor Fayemi's Polling Unit as Results from Ekiti Guber Election Trickle In

Ekiti state - The governor of Ekiti state, Kayode Fayemi, has won his polling unit, unit 09, Ogilolo ward in Isan-Ekiti, Oye Local Government Area for the All Progressive Congress candidate, Biodun Oyebanji.

The APC scored 154 votes while the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s candidates scored three and four votes respectively, The Punch reported.

Governor Kayode Fayemi/Ekiti Governorship Election 2022/APC
Governor Fayemi delivers his polling unit for the APC in the Ekiti state governorship election. Photo credit: Kayode Fayemi
Source: Facebook

The candidate of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), Kemi Elebute-Hallegot, got one vote while six votes were voided.

According to Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), there are 988,923 registered voters across 16 local government areas of Ekiti state for the election.

Winners emerge in Ekiti APC, PDP governorship candidates' polling units

Meanwhile, candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) won their polling units in the ongoing Ekiti governorship election.

Read also

Full list: Local government areas won by APC, PDP, others in Ekiti governorship election

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

While Biodun Oyebanji of the APC recorded 81 votes at Ward 3, Igede Ekiti, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bisi Kolawole, scored 23 votes while Oni had 30 votes. A total of 140 voters were accredited out of 367 registered voters in the unit.

At ward 2 unit 6, Ifaki Ekiti, where Oni voted, SDP polled a total of 218 votes. Oni who cast his vote around 11am raised an alarm about vote-buying in the ongoing governorship election in the state. His closest rival, polled 15 votes, while Kolawole trailed with two votes.

Prominent governorship candidate in Ekiti loses polling unit

In another related development, Kemi Elebute-Halle, the governorship candidate of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), lost her polling unit to Biodun Oyebanji, APC's candidate.

Oyebanji got 47 votes in the polling unit while SDP's Oni got 39. Elebute-Halle secured 32 votes at the polling unit.

Read also

BREAKING: INEC declares winner of Ekiti 2022 governorship election

Result: PU 8, Ward 10, Ikole LGA

SDP: 39

PDP: 21

APC: 47

ADP: 32

APC Defeats SDP in Segun Oni's LGA

Meanwhile, Biodun Oyebanji, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has won in Ido-Osi, the local government area of Segun Oni, the governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Oyebanji polled 10,321 votes to win the local government area while Oni secured 9,489 votes to take the second spot.

The PDP's candidate, Bisi Kolawole, came third with 2,871 votes.


Online view pixel