President Buhari Makes Fresh Appointments, Seeks Senate Approval

President Buhari Makes Fresh Appointments, Seeks Senate Approval

  • With a couple of months to the end of President Muhammadu Buhari's tenure in office, he has once again sanctioned some fresh appointments
  • No fewer than seven individuals were recommended for the position of commissioners at the ICP by the president
  • He sent these names to the Senate for approval and the letter was read at plenary on Tuesday, January 17 by Senate President Ahmad Lawan

PAY ATTENTION: How media literate are you? Click to take a quiz – bust fake news with!

FCT, Abuja - President Muhammadu Buhari has recommended seven names to the national assembly for reappointment as National Commissioners of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

This recommendation was read at the red chamber of the national assembly by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan on Tuesday, January 17.

Buhari, ICPC
President Buhari recommended seven ICPC commissioners for reappointment to the House of Senate for approval. Photo: Aso Rock Villa
Source: UGC

Senate reads out President Buhari's recommendation

Read also

Enugu youths drag Chimaroke Nnamani to court, seek his disqualification

According to This Day, Senator Lawan was quoted saying:

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

β€œIn accordance with Section 3(3) and (7) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act 2000, I write to forward for confirmation by the Senate the under-listed names of seven (7) persons for reappointment as members of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).” gathered that the names of the individuals recommended for the role of commissioner at the ICPC include Justice Adamu Bello (rtd) from Katsina State (North-west), Hnnatu Mohammed from Jigawa State (North West) and Mrs Olubukola Balogun (rtd) from Lagos State (South-west).

Others shortlisted for screening by the national assembly include Dr Grace Nkechiyere Chinda from Delta State (South-south), Mr Obiora Samuel Igwedibia from Anambra State (South-east), Abdullahi Maikano from Niger State (North-central) and Prince Dauda Yahaya Umar from Nasarawa State (North-central).

Read also

Newspaper review: "G5 governors' plan for PDP during general elections" - Ortom speaks up

This appointment becomes one of the many appointments President Buhari has made since the beginning of 2023.

President Buhari Makes Crucial Re-Appointment of Govt Official

Similarly, as President Muhammadu Buhari's tenure winds up, he has continued to approve crucial appointments into government agencies and parastatals.

Recently, the president approved the reappointment of Prof. Mojisola Adeyeye as the director-general of NAFDAC.

Prof Adeyeye's was reported to have expired on Thursday, November 3 before a renewal was approved by the President who first appointed her in 2017.


Online view pixel