41 lawmakers who are not returning to Senate after 2019 elections (full list)

41 lawmakers who are not returning to Senate after 2019 elections (full list)

Not fewer than 41 serving senators from various political parties have lost the opportunity to seek re-election and return to the upper legislative chamber.

This, according to Daily Trust, is based on the list of Senatorial candidates released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday, January 17.

Legit.ng gathers that the list indicates only 68 out of the 109 senators at the eighth National Assembly have secured their parties’ return ticket, thus having chances of being a member of the ninth National Assembly if they win their elections.

READ ALSO: Our future is not in the hands of retired generals - Oshiomole

While most of the 41 senators who will not be returning to the Red Chamber lost the tickets to other members of their parties, six of them did not contest for return tickets at all, having secured the governorship tickets in their respective states. Also, a few others did not seek re-election, hence did not take part in the primaries.

41 lawmakers who are not returning to Senate after 2019 elections (full list)
The 8th Senate is headed by Senator Bukola Saraki from Kwara state.
Source: UGC

Those who went for the governorship tickets

  • Senators Jeremiah Useni (PDP, Plateau)
  • Sunny Ogbouji (APC, Ebonyi)
  • John Owan-Enoh (APC, C/River)
  • Usman Bayero Nafada (PDP, Gombe)
  • Hope Uzodinma (APC, Imo)
  • Abdulaziz Nyako (ADC, Adamawa)

Based on the INEC list, a total of seven serving governors got tickets to contest for the Senate. They are;

  • Kashim Shettima (Borno)
  • Ibrahim Dankwambo (Gombe)
  • Rochas Okorocha (Imo)
  • Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara)
  • Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun)
  • Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo)
  • Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe)

Note: Latest reports indicate Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara has dropped his senatorial ambition

Also, among the serving senators who are not returning are five former governors. They are;

  • Ahmed Sani Yarima (Zamfara)
  • Bukar Abba Ibrahim (Yobe)
  • Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (Kano)
  • Joshua Dariye (Plateau)
  • Jonah David Jang (Plateau)

The list also showed that the All Progressives Congress (APC) has no candidate in Rivers and Zamfara states. All serving senators from the two states are of the APC.

While an Appeal Court ruled that the APC could not field candidates in Rivers state due to certain irregularities in the party’s primaries, INEC rejected the party’s candidates in Zamfara state, citing lack of adherence to the deadline for conducting primaries. The matter is, however, still in court.

Thus, if the matters pending in court (Rivers and Zamfara) are eventually resolved in favour of the APC, the number of senators who lost return opportunity may be reduced to either 38 or 35.

Daily Trust notes that all senators from 11 states below and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) got their return tickets. The states are: Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Delta, Edo, Kaduna, Kebbi, Kogi, Ondo, Sokoto.


The senatorial candidates’ list showed that none of the three senators from Bayelsa state will be returning. Emmanuel Paulker and Ogola Foster lost their return tickets to Diri Douye and Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence respectively while Senator Ben Murray-Bruce pulled out of the race after purchasing nomination form.


In Ogun state, the three serving senators, Olanrewaju Adeyemi Tejuoso, Buruji Kashamu and Joseph Gbolahan Dada have lost their tickets to other contenders.

The new holders of the senatorial tickets are Governor Ibikunle Amosun, Adeola Ayoola Sosanwo and Akinremi Tolulope Odebiyi, respectively.


The situation is similar on Osun state. The three senators from the state, namely Olusola Adeyeye, Babajide Christopher Omoworare and Ademola Adeleke will not be returning. They may be replaced by Basiru Ajibola Surajudeen, Famurewa Israel Ajibola and Kamoruddeen Olalere Oyewumi respectively, who now hold the tickets.

Senator Adeyeye reportedly did not seek re-election.


Also in Plateau state, all the three senators: Jeremiah Useni, Jonah Jang and Joshua Dariye will not be returning. Kefas Peter Dandam, Gyang Istifanus Dung and Hezekiah Ayuba Dimka got the Senate tickets in their place.

Senator Husseini has since picked the PDP governorship ticket in the state.


Senator Nyako of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) will not be returning as he has picked the ADC governorship ticket in the state. Umar Mustapha Madawaki has also Senate picked the ticket to replace him.


One of the longest-serving senators in the history of Nigeria, Senator David Mark, has decided not to return to the Red Chamber again. Thus, Abba Moro has picked the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ticket to replace him.


Governor Shettima of Borno state has got the ticket to contest for Borno Central seat to replace the current occupant, Senator Baba Kaka Garbai.


The current serving APC senator in Cross River state, John Owan-Enoh, has secured the party’s governorship ticket, giving the space to Onor Sandy Ojang.


Also, Onu Nwaeze Prince secured the APC ticket for Ebonyi South to replace Sunny Ogbuoji who is now the APC governorship candidate in Ebonyi.


Senator Fatimat Olufunke Raji-Rasaki of the APC lost her ticket to a former member of the House of Representatives, Opeyemi Bamidele.


Gilbert Nnaji of the PDP lost his ticket to a former governor of the state, Chimaroke Nnamani.


Governor Hassan Dankwambo and Binta Bello, a serving member of the House of Reps have secured tickets to replace Senators Usman Bayero Nafada and Joshua Lidani respectively.


Governor Okorocha and Onyewuchi Francis have secured tickets to replace Senators Hope Uzodinma and Sam Anyanwu.

The two serving senators from the state contested for governorship tickets in APC and PDP. While Uzodinma got his party’s ticket in a controversial primary, Anyanwu was not successful.


Danladi Abdullahi Sankara now has the APC ticket to battle for the seat currently occupied by Senator Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel.


Aliyu Sani Madaki, a House of Reps member, has also picked the ticket to replace Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso’s seat.


Senator Abu Ibrahim of Katsina South, who did not seek re-election, may be replaced by Bello Mandiya, who got the ticket while Kabir Abdullahi Barkiya got the ticket for Katsina Central to replace Senator Umaru Ibrahim Kurfi.


Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, who has reportedly ceded his ticket to Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, has his name as the PDP candidate for Kwara South, while Zakari Mohammed, another House of Reps member, picked the ticket for Kwara North to contest the seat of Senator Shaba Lafiagi.


Senator Gbenga Ashafa from Lagos state will not be returning as Osinowo Sikiru Adebayo picked the APC ticket for his seat.


John Michael Abdul picked the PDP ticket for Nasarawa North to replace Senator Philip Aruwa Gyunka, who had contested for the governorship ticket.


Out of the three senators from Niger state, Senator Mohammed Garba lost his return ticket to Muhammad Enagi Bima.


Senator Rilwan Adesoji Akanbi will not be returning as Governor Abiola Ajimobi has picked his ticket.


Senator Isa Lau from Taraba state will also not be returning as Bako Dahiru Gassol has picked the ticket.


Governor Ibrahim Geidam of Yobe state now holds the ticket that took Senator Bukar Abba Ibrahim to the Red Chamber.

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, Legit.ng previously reported that Senate president Bukola Saraki appealed to members of the upper legislative chamber not to abandon their legislative duties because of the forthcoming elections.

Saraki made the appeal on Wednesday, January 16, during his welcome address at the resumption of plenary after the Yuletide festivities.

Let’s Talk About Salaries of Nigerian Senators | Legit TV

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel