36 states and capitals in Nigeria

36 states and capitals in Nigeria

Today we are going to discuss one issue that is necessary for every Nigerian. We will list the 36 states and their capitals. Well, read on to know more.

36 states and capitals in Nigeria

How many states are in Nigeria

Actually, Nigeria has 36 states and one federal capital territory. Between 1960 and 1963, Nigeria was only divided into 3 regions. They were called eastern region, western region and northern region. From 1963 to 1967, Nigeria had 4 regions instead of three because of the carving out of the mid western region out of the old western region.

Then, between 1967 and 1975, General Yakubu Gowon created the first 12 states in Nigeria. They were Rivers, Cross Rivers, East Central State( all from the old eastern state), Bendel, Western State and Lagos( all 3 from the old western state), Benue-Plateau, Kaduna, Kwara, Kano, Northwestern State and North-Eastern State (all from the old northern region).

36 states and capitals

Abuja was created from the old Niger State (1976 - 1987). List of state in Nigeria increased to 19. In 1991 this number became even larger - 21. Finally, 36 states and capitals were recorded in Nigeria in 1996.

READ ALSO: Current Nigerian states capitals, slogans and governors

List of states in Nigeria

Well, let’s consider the current situation. Look through each of state and capital of Nigeria.

  1. Abia State Umuahia
  2. Adamawa Yola
  3. Akwa Ibom Uyo
  4. Anambra Awka
  5. Bauchi Bauchi
  6. Bayelsa Yenagoa
  7. Benue Makurdi
  8. Borno Maiduguri
  9. Cross River Calabar
  10. Delta Asaba
  11. Ebonyi Abakaliki
  12. Edo Benin
  13. Ekiti Ado-Ekiti
  14. Enugu Enugu
  15. FCT Abuja
  16. Gombe Gombe
  17. Imo Owerri
  18. Jigawa Dutse
  19. Kaduna Kaduna
  20. Kano Kano
  21. Katsina Katsina
  22. Kebbi Birnin Kebbi
  23. Kogi Lokoja
  24. Kwara Ilorin
  25. Lagos Ikeja
  26. Nassarawa Lafia
  27. Niger Mina
  28. Ogun Abeokuta
  29. Ondo Akure
  30. Osun Osogbo
  31. Oyo Ibadan
  32. Plateau Jos
  33. Rivers Port Harcourt
  34. Sokoto Sokoto
  35. Taraba Jalingo
  36. Yobe Damaturu
  37. Zamfara Gusau
states and capitals in Nigeria

This is the full list of states in Nigeria. Everyone should know how many states we have. The information can be useful especially for students. Although this list can seem very easy but many students have some difficulties when making term papers or other works and sometimes they can meet such kind of questions.

READ ALSO: How many senators do we have in Nigeria?

Source: Legit Newspaper

Mailfire view pixel