Osimhen, Oshoala make List of 10th Nigeria Pitch Award, Full List Emerges

Osimhen, Oshoala make List of 10th Nigeria Pitch Award, Full List Emerges

  • Nigeria striker and Napoli forward, Victor Osimhen, has been severally nominated in multiple categories of the 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards
  • Also earning a major feat is the Super Falcon legend Asisat Oshoala, a serial African Women Footballer of the Year winner
  • Nigerian international and striker of the Bayern Leverkusen of Germany also got more than one nomination in the awards

Victor Osimhen, the reigning male African Footballer of the Year, has earned the highest nominations in four categories at the 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards.

This was revealed on Thursday by the organisers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards through its voter collation agent, SIAO Partners.

Victor Osimhen/Asisat Osoala/Nigeria pitch awards
Full list of nominees for the 10th Nigerian Pitch Award Photo Credit: Victory Osimhen, Asisat Osoala
Source: Twitter

Vanguard reported that Osimhen, Nigeria's Super Eagles forward, was nominated among other teammates and Super Falcons stars in different categories.

Read also

Celebration as Tinubu arrives Ikeja for commissioning of Red Line rail project, video emerges

List of nominations for Osimhen, Oshoala, Boniface

The nominations were unveiled at the Ibis Hotels in Ikeja, Lagos.

The Napoli FC forward got the most nominations, including the 'Striker of the Year', 'King of the Year', 'Sam Okwaraji', and 'Sportsmanship of the Year' awards.

Also, Victor Boniface of Bayern Leverkusen of Germany got two nominations, while the serial African Women Footballer of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, also got a nomination.

Speaking at the 10th anniversary rendezvous, the president of Nigeria pitch awards, Shina Phillips, said the event would be a landmark.

African Pitch Awards: List of nominees

Goalkeeper of the Year:

Kingdom Osayi (Doma United FC)

Amas Obasoge (Bendel Insurance FC)

Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba International FC)

Defender of the Year:

Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC England)

Ola Aina (Nottingham Forest, England)

Read also

Sassuolo vs Napoli: Victor Osimhen joins Maradona in history books after Serie A hat trick

Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahçe, Turkey)

Midfielder of the Year:

Yusuf Al-Hassan (Royal Antwerp, Belgium)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)

Striker of the Year:

Robert Mizo (Bayelsa United FC)

Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy)

Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Sam Okwaraji Award:

Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy)

Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey)

Kunle Soname (Bet9ja)

Queen of the Pitch:

Rasheedat Ajibade (Atlético Madrid, Spain)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (French Division 1 Féminine)

Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona FC, Féminine, Spain)

King of the Pitch:

Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy)

Emeka Obiora (Shooting Stars SC)

Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Team of the Year:

Super Falcons

Enyimba International FC

Remo Stars FC

Coach of the Year:

Daniel Ogunmodede (Remo Stars FC)

Finidi George (Enyimba International FC)

Randy Waldrum (Super Falcon)

State with the Best Grassroots Football Development Programme:

Edo State

Delta State

Lagos State

Football Friendly Governor of the Year:

Pastor Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom)

Read also

"Africa's best for a reason": Victor Osimhen's Serie A hattrick excites Nigerians

Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos)

Godwin Obaseki (Edo)

Football Pitch of the Year:

Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan

Remo Stars Stadium

Media category:

Football Journalist of the Year (Print)

Christopher Okparah (The Guardian)

Charles Diya (New Telegraph)

Johnny Edward (Punch)

Football Journalist of the Year (TV)

Myen Akiri (TVc)

Moses Praiz (Super Sports)

Cecilia Omoregie (Channels TV)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio)

Olawale Adigun (Mainland FM)

Olayinka Oyedele (Brilla Sport)

Anthony Berekederemo (Brilla FM)

Football Journalist of the Year (Online)

Samuel Amidu (Savid News)

Tobi Adepoju (Oganla Media)

Kunle Solaja (Sportsvillagesquare)

Corporate category:

Corporate Sponsor of Football Award



GTI Financial

Sportsmanship Award:

Kunle Soname

Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy)

Gbenga Elegbeleye (NPFL).

Highest-paid Super Eagles players in world

Legit.ng earlier reported that the performance of the Nigeria Super Eagles players in the just-concluded 2023 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) has reportedly raised the value of the players in the international market.

Read also

“You finally subdued Wike in Rivers”: Nigerians react as Fubara appoints Justice Odili, Amiesimaka

Nigeria has secured silver in the much-talk-about tournament and the number-one championship in the African continent after being defeated by the host country, Cote d'Ivoire, in a thrilling three-goal final.

The Elephant of Cote d'Ivoire defeated the Super Eagles of Nigeria 2-1, but the Nigerian players have been much talked about in the European football market.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel