Edo 2024: APC Clears 12 Governorship Aspirants Ahead of Primaries

Edo 2024: APC Clears 12 Governorship Aspirants Ahead of Primaries

  • The Edo state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is set to head to the primaries to determine their rightful flagbearer
  • The APC National Gubernatorial Aspirants Screening Committee on Saturday, February 10, cleared twelve aspirants who will face off at the primaries
  • The primaries are scheduled for next week, Saturday, February 17, and the winner will be determined on the same day

Legit.ng journalist Segun Adeyemi has over 9 years of experience covering political events, civil societies, courts, and metro

FCT, Abuja - The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Edo State has approved all 12 governorship aspirants for the party's ticket in the upcoming September governorship election.

The National Gubernatorial Aspirants Screening Committee headed by Prof. Taoheed Abdul Adedoja approved the aspirants after thorough screening, The Nation reported.

Read also

FULL LIST: House of reps formally welcome 12 new members as INEC issues certificates of return to 15

The aspirants were cleared by the party's gubernatorial screening committee.
The selected aspirants of the APC will battle at the primaries on Saturday, Feb. 17. Photo Credit: Hon. Dennis Idahosa/HonestGuy Global Network/Good Governance Movement
Source: Facebook

After a two-day screening process, the committee granted all aspirants permission to participate in the party's primary next Saturday.

This decision was announced by the APC National Organising Secretary, Alhaji Sulaiman Muhammadu Arugungu, in a statement released in Abuja early Saturday, February 9.

Arugungu stated that all approved aspirants will receive a Certificate of Screening clearance by noon at the party Secretariat on Saturday.

Who are the aspirants?

The approved candidates comprise a diverse group, including former Minister of State for National Economic Planning, Prince Clem Agba; Senator Monday Okpebholo of Edo Central; former Deputy Governor Hon. Lucky Imasuen; Etsako Federal Constituency's representative, Hon. Anamero Sunday Dekeri; Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, who previously contested for APC governorship; and Engr. Gideon Ikhine.

Also among the cleared are Col. David Imuse, the immediate past Edo APC chairman, Major. General Charles Airhiavbere (Rtd), former Executive Director of Finance and Administration at the NDDC; ex-Governor Oserheimen Osunbor; Dr. Blessing Agbohmere, former Zonal Organizing Secretary (South-South); Hon. Dennis Idahosa, representing Ovia South/West-Ovia North/East Federal Constituency; and Dr. Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe.

Read also

Nigeria vs South Africa: Full list of 25 free mega viewing centres in Lagos for AFCON 2023 matches

APC Edo North leaders deny endorsing Idahosa as candidate ahead of Guber primary election

In another report, APC leaders in the Edo North region have refuted claims of endorsing Dennis Idahosa, one of the aspirants for the party's gubernatorial primary election.

The rebuttal follows video clips circulating on social media suggesting that a preferred candidate has been selected.

The APC is set to hold its primary election for the Edo governorship, with 12 persons expressing interest.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel