List of President Tinubu's Ministers Receiving Life Pensions in Their States and Why

List of President Tinubu's Ministers Receiving Life Pensions in Their States and Why

Some of President Bola Tinubu's ministers-designate have been reported to still be collecting life pensions in their states.

These ministers-designate are former governors still on the state's pension payroll.

Nyesom Wike/Gboyega Oyetola/Bola Tinubu/Simon Lalong/Atiku Bagudu/Abubakar BadaruAPC/Presidency/Ministers
Some of President Tinubu's ministers are collecting a life pension Photo Credit: Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Nyesom Wike
Source: Twitter

Some of the ministers-designate still collecting pensions include:

Nyesom Wike, former Rivers state governor

Wike has been designated as the minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and served Rivers State on two consecutive terms. Being a two-term state governor under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), he was entitled to a life pension.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

While speaking with, Wale Adeagbo, a legal practitioner, argued that Wike's appointment was a reward for an assignment well-carried out.

Read also

PDP governor reacts as President Tinubu swears in Wike as FCT minister

He said:

"Some of the appointments seem to be like repayment of the assignments and good works some did during the electioneering period. Wike, for example."

Abubakar Badaru, former governor of Jigawa state

He was a two-term governor of Jigawa State, entitled to a life pension from the state coffer.

The former governor is being designated as minister of budget and national planning by President Tinubu.

Bello Matawalle, former governor of Zamfara

Matawale has been designated as minister of state for defence by President Bola Tinubu, a position that many political pundits have strongly criticised.

Being a one-term governor of Zamfara state, Matawalle is one of President Tinubu's ministers collecting life pensions from their states.

Adegboyega Oyetola former governor of Osun

Like Matawalle, Oyetola is a one-term governor of Osun state and is currently on the payroll of his state for life pension.

Read also

Fresh crisis erupts in PDP as top foundational member joins APC, gives reason

After losing his second-term ambition, he has been appointed as the minister for transportation by President Tinubu and is expected to be sworn in Monday, August 21.

Speaking on the appointment of Oyetola, Adeagbo maintained that the former governor was being complimented for his second-term loss in Osun.

He said:

"Some are just to compliment the loss of holding office. For example, Former Governor of Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola."

David Umahi, former governor of Ebonyi

The new minister of works was a two-term governor of Ebonyi state and collecting a pension from the southeast state.

He was the chairman of the southeast governor's forum and contested the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential ticket against President Tinubu before the 2023 general election.

Other President Tinubu's ministers and their states

Other ministers of President Tinubu who have been accused of receiving life pensions in their states are listed below:

Read also

BREAKING: Tinubu asked to stop Wike, Umahi, other ex-governors from collecting life pensions

  1. Simon Lalong (Plateau)
  2. Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi)
  3. Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe)

President Tinubu set to constitute cabinet earlier reported that President Bola Tinubu will likely inaugurate his cabinet and swear-in ministers on Monday.

A source within the presidency disclosed that the offices of the Chief of Staff and Secretary General of the Federation are working toward the event.

President Tinubu is expected to swear in 45 ministers, including former governors of Rivers and Osun states, Nyesom Wike and Gboyega Oyetola.


Online view pixel