Results: How Akpabio Defeated Yari to Become Senate President of 10th National Assembly

Results: How Akpabio Defeated Yari to Become Senate President of 10th National Assembly

  • Godswill Akpabio, senator representing Akwa Ibom North-West, was on Tuesday, June 13, elected as the senate president
  • He defeated Abdulaziz Yari, senator representing Zamfara Central, to win the election leadership position of the nation's 3rd top position
  • Akpabio polled a total of 63 votes, while Yari, his major contender, and closest rival, scored 46 votes

Unlock the best of on Pinterest! Subscribe now and get your daily inspiration!

Akpabio, a former minister of Niger Delta Affairs and the preferred candidate of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC) emerged as the Senate President.

Akpabio scored 63 votes, while Abdulaziz Yari, his closest rival in the contest, polled 46 votes in the race for senate president.

Godswill Akpabio, Akwa Ibom State, 10th Senate, Abdulaziz Yari, a former governor of Zamfara State
From the results gathered, Akpabio defeated Yari, his major contender in the race, with 17 votes to become the leader of the 10th National Assembly. Photo credit: @thecableng
Source: Twitter

How Akpabio defeated Yari, emerged as the senate president

Sani Tambuwal, clerk of the national assembly, is in the senate chamber and is presiding over the session. The clerk has called for nominations.

Read also

BREAKING: President Tinubu receives newly elected Senate President Akpabio in Aso Villa

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through!

Ali Ndume, senator-elect for Borno South, nominated Godswill Akpabio, senator-elect for Akwa Ibom north-east, as president of the senate. Akpabio accepted the nomination.

Elisha Abbo, senator-elect for Adamawa north, nominated Abdulaziz Yari, senator-elect for Zamfara west.

Some senators-elect protested Yari's nomination, saying they don't want any other nominations. Abbo is also shouting at the top of his voice, saying: "Take us to court, let us meet in court."

The senators are protesting that Yari is not allowed to stand for the position as a first-time senator.

After the clerk called the house to order, Abdulaziz Yari accepted the nomination.

According to the Senate standing rules, Yari is qualified to vie for the position because he is a former House of Representatives, member.

The clerk has now declared the nominations closed. We have Godswill Akpabio and Abdulaziz Yari in the race for senate president.

Read also

“I will represent every senator, including Yari”: Senate president, Godswill Akpabio makes vow

Sani Magaji Tambuwal, clerk of the national assembly, has directed the clerk of the senate to prepare for the election. "Show them the ballot papers," he said.

Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun) and Yahaya Bello (Kogi) are present at the chamber. They are presently congratulating Godswill Akpabio. Counting is however still in progress.

The breakdown of the votes by senators:

According to The Cable, the total votes cast by senators on Tuesday are as followed;

Total votes: 109

Akpabio: 63

Yari: 46

Akpabio was declared the winner of the contest, following the votes cast by 63 senators on his behalf and Yari was defeated as only 46 senators voted for him.

10th NASS: 5 reasons Godswill Akpabio could become Nigeria's next Senate President

In Nigerian politics, some individuals possess a unique combination of charisma, experience, and strategic prowess that propel them to the forefront.

Read also

BREAKING: Anxiety for Idris Wase as Tajudeen Abass inches close to emerging next House of Reps speaker

One such figure who has been making waves is Senator Godswill Akpabio, a seasoned politician with an impressive track record.

With whispers and speculations circulating within political circles, it is worth exploring the possibility of Akpabio ascending to the position of Nigeria’s next Senate president.

In this short piece, we will delve into five compelling reasons Godswill Akpabio could be the frontrunner for this prestigious role, considering his political acumen, extensive network, influential background, commitment to service, and history of achieving remarkable feats.

Senate presidency: Report reveals vote may sell for $5,000, $10,000

In another development, the Senate presidential race might go down to who has the biggest bag to spend ahead of Tuesday, June 13 inauguration.

Sources have revealed that lawmakers in the upper chamber might sell their votes for around the region of $5,000, $10,000 or more.

The current contest is between Senator Orji Kalu, Senator Abdulaziz Yari and Senator Godswill Akpabio.


Online view pixel