Meet 4 Speakers That Have Headed Powerful Southeast State Assembly in 4 Years

Meet 4 Speakers That Have Headed Powerful Southeast State Assembly in 4 Years

  • What is shrouded to many is that since the emergence of Hope Uzodinma as Imo state governor, no less than 4 speakers have headed the state assembly
  • The speakers have either be removed by the power that be or resign due as a result of different corruption allegations
  • Kennedy Ibe, the third speaker of the house, recently resigned for an undisclosed reason, the picture of the new speaker just suddenly appeared online

When it comes to politics in Nigeria, the narrative Imo state calls for great reckoning in Nigeria’s political milieu.

This is because the politics in the state appear not to give room to a few individuals to dominate the polity in the political business in the state.

Imo state/Imo speakers/Hope Uzodinma/Southeast politics
Four speakers have headed Imo state Photo Credit: Hope Usodinma
Source: Facebook

This is a state where the governor, Hope Uzodinma, and his immediate predecessor, Rochas Okorocha, are like the eye and pepper that do not come in contact with each other.

Read also

PDP crisis: Omehia derecognised over Wike-Atiku rift? Rivers governor finally opens up

Why are Imo state house of assembly speakers resigning?

The drama is not just in the executive but also in the legislative quarters of the state, as it has produced no less than 4 speakers in the state house of assembly.

PAY ATTENTION: Join Telegram channel! Never miss important updates!

The third speaker in the 9th assembly in the state, Kennedy Ibe, was reported to have allegedly resigned for an undisclosed reason.

However, it was learned that Ibe was forced to resign as speaker of the house following pressure from the cabals.

A source privy to the development said: “Ibeh was compelled by the powers-that-be to announce his resignation,” he said without further reason.

Below is the list of 4 speakers in 4 years in the Imo state house of assembly

Hon. Emeka Nduka became speaker in 2022

He is the current speaker of the state house of Assembly and a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

Peter Obi: Okowa’s aide resigns to join ‘Obidient’ movement in Delta state

The lawmaker is representing Ehime Mbano state constituency.

Nduka became the new speaker following the resignation of Kennedy Ibeh as the third speaker of the ninth assembly in the state.

Hon. Kennedy Ibeh elected in 2021

He became speaker of the house in November 2021 and resigned nearly a year after being sworn in.

The embattled speaker announced his resignation in a statement by his chief press secretary, Ifeanyi Onyekachi.

The lawmaker did not give the reason for his resignation but pledged loyalty and commitment to the governor, Hope Uzodinma.

Hon. Chiji Collins was sworn-in in 2019

He was impeached because of alleged high-handedness, financial impropriety, and gross misconduct.

The report stated that the motion for his removal was supported by 19 of the 27 members of the House.

Hon. Paul Emeziem, elected in 2020

He was sacked on November 8, 2023 as the speaker of the house and suspended with three other lawmakers immediately.

Read also

2023 Elections: List of governors contesting for second term in office and their chances

Others suspended with him were a former Deputy Speaker, Okey Onyekanma, and a former minority leader, Ekene Nnodimele.

2023: List of local governments where elections might not hold due to insecurity earlier reported that no fewer than 40 local governments have been heavily attacked in some states in Nigeria, and elections might not hold in these local governments due to insecurity.

Some of the most affected states are Kaduna, Zamfara, Imo, Niger and Sokoto as terrorists, bandits and the so-called unknown gunmen's activities are intensified in some LGAs of these states.

However, the government is doing everything to curb the activities of the non-state actor, but as things, if there is no end to the insecurity in these LGA, elections might not hold.


Online view pixel