Full List of States Controlled by APC and PDP after Osun 2022 Governorship Election

Full List of States Controlled by APC and PDP after Osun 2022 Governorship Election

On Saturday, July 16, the people of Osun state trooped out to vote for the person to govern them for the next four years.

In the early hours of Sunday, July 17, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the election.

APC/PDP/Nigerian States/2023 Elections/Osun Governorship Election
PDP gained Osun from the ruling APC ahead of the 2023 general election. Photo credits: @iyorchiayu, @HCookey
Source: Twitter

Adeleke unseated the incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as he won in 17 out of the 30 local government areas in the state.

The PDP's victory in Osun has slightly altered the political dynamics as the opposition party has now gained control of one more state ahead of the 2023 general elections.

At the moment, the ruling APC is now in control of 21 states while the opposition PDP is in charge of 14, including the newest gain, Osun. The remaining state, Anambra, is controlled by the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

  1. Abia - PDP
  2. Adamawa - PDP
  3. Akwa Ibom - PDP
  4. Anambra - APGA
  5. Bauchi - PDP
  6. Bayelsa - PDP
  7. Benue - PDP
  8. Borno - APC
  9. Cross River - APC
  10. Delta - PDP
  11. Ebonyi - APC
  12. Edo - PDP
  13. Ekiti - APC
  14. Enugu - PDP
  15. Gombe - APC
  16. Imo - APC
  17. Jigawa - APC
  18. Kaduna - APC
  19. Kano - APC
  20. Katsina - APC
  21. Kebbi - APC
  22. Kogi - APC
  23. Kwara - APC
  24. Lagos - APC
  25. Nasarawa - APC
  26. Niger - APC
  27. Ogun - APC
  28. Ondo - APC
  29. Osun - PDP
  30. Oyo - PDP
  31. Plateau - APC
  32. Rivers - PDP
  33. Sokoto - PDP
  34. Taraba - PDP
  35. Yobe - APC
  36. Zamfara - APC

Oyetola speaks, reveals next plan after losing Osun governorship election to PDP's Adeleke

Meanwhile, the governor of Osun state, Adegboyega Oyetola, has urged his supporters to be calm following the emergence of the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Senator Ademola Adeleke as governor-elect.

Oyetola said he has taken cognisance of the results of the governorship election announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday.

A statement by the Chief Press Secretary to Oyetola, Ismail Omipidan, noted the party would be responding appropriately after studying the results and consulting with critical stakeholders of the party.

Adeleke makes first statement after defeating Oyetola in Osun governorship election

In another report, Senator Adeleke has reacted to his victory in the 2022 governorship election in Osun state.

Shortly after he was announced as the winner of the poll by INEC, Adeleke took to his verified Twitter page to send a message to his followers and other Nigerians on the social media platform.

"I have brought light to Osun State," he tweeted.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel