Breaking: Court Remands 29 Yoruba Nation Agitators in Oyo for Treason

Breaking: Court Remands 29 Yoruba Nation Agitators in Oyo for Treason

  • The Iyaganku Chief Magistrate Court in Ibadan has ordered that the 29 individuals arrested for invading Oyo state secretariat be remanded
  • The rebels went inside the government office, masked, to hoist the flag of a supposed Yoruba Nation before they were apprehended
  • Prosecutor charged with various illegal activities like conspiracy, and treasonable felony, among others

The Iyaganku Chief Magistrate Court in Ibadan has ruled that all 29 agitators arrested for invading the Oyo State Secretariat be remanded in prison.

The charges filed against them by the prosecutor include conspiracy, forming an illegal association, treasonable felony, unlawful possession of guns, conduct likely to disturb society's peace, and going armed in public.

Oyo governor Seyi Makinde
The government ordered agitators' building demolished after knowing it was being used to scheme illegal activities
Source: Twitter

According to The Vanguard, the defendants were arraigned for these charges on Wednesday, April 17, and have been taken to the Agodi Correctional Center in Ibadan.

Read also

UTME 2024: JAMB delists centres, full list emerges

Chief Magistrate Olabisi Ogunkanmi, who presided over the case, adjourned the hearing until August 1.

Prosecutor's Claims

The prosecuting counsel, CSP Funke Fawole, claimed that the suspects schemed to unseat the democratically elected governor of Oyo State, Engr Seyi Makinde, on Saturday around 8:30 am.

She revealed that the materials recovered from them included charms, guns, cutlasses, and knives.

She established that this is a direct violation of the state Criminal Code under Section 62 and is punishable under Sections 41 (b), 64, 80, 249 (d), and 516.

The prosecutor also argued that the act contravened Sections 3 and 6(b) of the Robbery and Firearms (Special Provisions) Act, Cap RII, Vol 14, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004.

NAN reports that the defendants include Abefe Muritala, 40; Hammed Adesokan, 37; David Ayoola, 40; Tola Olufemi, 60, ‘F’; Ismaila Adepoju, 45; Mathew Olalere, 54; Ezekiel Ajani, 42; Wahab Salaudeen, 56; Rofiat Ayanwale, 25, ‘F’; Anthony Fatoki, 34; Funsho Omoyajowo, 64, ‘F’; Adeniyi Ademola, 29; Kayode Fakeye, 45; Esther Abiona, 78, ‘F’; Alabi Oritola, 44; Alabi Ogundeji, 55; Joseph Adeyemo, 29; Lateef Adejumo, 60; Ismaila Peter, 65; Titilayo Taiwo, 58, ‘F’; Saburi Ayanwale, 28; Adeola Elegbede, 27; Peter Adeyemo, 75; Yussuf Adebayo, 67; Peter Ismaila, 65; Dosumu Toyin, ‘F’, 65; Wasiu Fatunmbi, 30; and Amos Ogundeji, 45.

Read also

Pregnant woman, widow nabbed with N3.2 million fake notes in Abuja

Oyo demolishes Yoruba nation agitators building in Ibadan had earlier reported that following the arrest of the 29 rebels who invaded the Oyo secretariat to hoist the supposed Yoruba nation flag, their base had been demolished on the order of the government.

It was discovered that the building was also being used to stockpile weapons illegally.


Online view pixel