Cabinet reshuffle: Full list of newly sworn in ministers, portfolios

Cabinet reshuffle: Full list of newly sworn in ministers, portfolios

During the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday, July 6, the Senate's approval of ministerial nominees was acted on.

The president swore in the screened and approved ministers with the various ministries they are to head finally made known to the public.

New ministers
The new ministers were sworn in during the FEC meeting (Photo: Buhari Sallau)
Source: Facebook

Below is the list of the newly sworn-in ministers and their portfolios:

  1. Adeleke Mamora - minister of science and technology (formerly minister of state, health)
  2. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo - minister of transportation (formerly minister of power)
  3. Umanna Okon Umanna - minister of Niger Delta
  4. Sharon Ikeazor - minister of state, Niger Delta (formerly minister of state, environment)
  5. Gbemisola Saraki - minister of state, mines and steel development (formerly minister of state, transportation)
  6. Umar Ibrahim EI-Yakub - minister of state, works, and housing
  7. Goodluck Nanah Opiah - minister of state, education
  8. Ekumankama Joseph Nkama - minister of state, health
  9. Ikoh Henry Ikechukwu - minister of state, science, and technology
  10. Odum Udi - minister of state, environment
  11. Ademola Adewole Adegoroye - minister of state, transportation

Read also

Crises hit another APC state as elders warn party not to forward Nentawe’s name to INEC

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

The presidency's full statement on the new development is contained in the Facebook post shared by Buhari Sallau, a presidential media aide.

Buhari swears in new transportation minister, reshuffles cabinet

Earlier, President Buhari swore in Mu’azu Sambo as the new minister of transportation.

It was gathered that 11 ministerial positions underwent some reshuffling, as announced during the (FEC meeting presided over by Buhari on Wednesday.

The president also swore in other ministerial nominees already screened and approved by the National Assembly.

According to Channels TV, those sworn in are Henry Ikoh (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa-Ibom), Udi Odum (Rivers), Ademola Adegoroye (Ondo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano), Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo) and Ekumankama Nkama (Ebonyi).

2023 presidency: Buhari speaks on ex-minister becoming his successor

Meanwhile, during a valedictory session with Nigerian ministers who have officially resigned from their office, Buhari noted that it would be a legacy to the country if one of them succeeds him.

Read also

BREAKING: Buhari swears in new transportation minister, reshuffles cabinet

President Buhari's remark was based on the belief that any of the outgoing ministers who inherit his seat in 2023 will serve Nigeria with the same competence they have shown while in his cabinet.


Online view pixel