Full List: Northern Governor Reshuffles Cabinet, Appoints 14 New Commissioners

Full List: Northern Governor Reshuffles Cabinet, Appoints 14 New Commissioners

  • Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state has reshuffled his cabinet and appoints new commissioners
  • The Kaduna state governor through his media aide, Muyiwa Adeleke, made the announcement, disclosing that the new commissioners are well experienced in the system
  • Adeleke further noted that this new move by the governor did not affect other ministries in the state

Kaduna state - The governor of Kaduna state, Nasir El-Rufai, has assigned new portfolios to some commissioners and senior officials of the state, a move designed to bring new insights and help harness fresh energy for his administration.

The Punch reports that Muyiwa Adeleke, the special adviser to Governor El Rufai on media and communication, made this known in a statement on Monday, October 11.

The governor said that the reshuffle is designed to help harness fresh energy for the government’s final lap, bring new insights and enable the commissioners to have more rounded experience of the government.

Read also

10 APC chieftains who might be appointed as replacements for outgoing ministers

Governor Nasir El-Rufai reshuffles cabinet, appoints new commissioners
Governor Nasir El-Rufai said this move would bring new insights and enable the commissioners to have more rounded experience of the government. Photo credit: Nasir El-Rufai
Source: Facebook

According to the statement titled, ‘KDSG announces cabinet reshuffle, new appointments,’ eight of the 14 commissioners swapped portfolios.

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

The statement read in part:

“Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, the Chief of Staff, returns to the Planning and Budget Commission, the responsibility he held with distinction during Malam El-Rufai’s first term.
“It is the second time that a chief of staff to the governor is being reassigned as commissioner. In 2019, Muhammad Bashir Saidu, then chief of staff, was redeployed to the Ministry of Finance. ”

The new portfolios for the commissioners being reassigned are:

  1. Jaafaru Sani: (Environment)
  2. Thomas Gyang: (Public Works and Infrastructure)
  3. Halima Lawal: (Education)
  4. Ibrahim Hussaini: (Agriculture)
  5. Shehu Usman Muhammad: ( Local Government)
  6. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi : (Planning & Budget Commission)
  7. Kabir Mato: (Business, Innovation & Technology)
  8. Idris Nyam: (Sports Development)

Read also

List of Nigerian governors who have unveiled their anointed successors

Following the passage of the law creating metropolitan authorities to manage Kaduna, Kafanchan and Zaria as organic cities, Malam Nasir El-Rufai has nominated the following cabinet-rank administrators:

  1. Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa Administrator, Zaria Metropolitan Authority
  2. Muhammad Hafiz Bayero Administrator, Kaduna Capital Territory
  3. Phoebe Sukai Yayi Administrator, Kafanchan Municipal Authority

Governor El-Rufai has also approved the deployment of the following officials:

  1. Umma Aboki (Permanent Secretary, Planning & Budget Commission
  2. Murtala Dabo (Executive Chairman, Fiscal Responsibility Commission
  3. Abubakar Hassan (DG, Kaduna State Contributory Health Management Authority (KADCHMA)
  4. Tamar Nandul (MD, Kaduna Markets Development & Management Company)
  5. Khalil Nur Khalil ES, (Kaduna Investment Promotion Agency (KADIPA)
  6. Maimunatu Abubakar (GM, Kaduna Environmental Protection Agency (KEPA)

Amina Ladan will oversee the Kaduna State Roads Agency (KADRA) following the redeployment of Engineer Muhammad Lawal Magaji to the Ministry of Public Works & Infrastructure.

The government has also announced the appointments of Professor Mohammed Sani as chairman of the Local Government Service Board; Muhammed Muazu Muqaddas as Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Authority (SEMA) and Dr. Shuaibu Shehu Aliyu as Permanent Secretary.

Read also

Hope Uzodimma says APC is a people-driven party in Imo and Nigeria

The governor has nominated Dr. Ishaya Sarki Habu (chairman), Aminu Yusuf Musa, Engr. Rabiu Tanko and Rebecca Nnawo Barde as the new members of the Legislative Service Commission.

Malam Nasir El-Rufai has conveyed the state government’s gratitude for the service of Aliyu Saidu, former DG-KADCHMA and Lawal Jibrin, former GM of KEPA, who are leaving the government.

However, the Ministry of Finance, Justice, Health, Housing & Urban Development, Internal Security and Home Affairs and Human Services and Social Development, were not affected by the move.

Confusion as EFCC arrests Northern governor's top appointee

Meanwhile, Legit.ng had earlier reported that the director-general of the Kaduna State Urban Planning Development Agency (KASUPDA) Malam Ismail Umaru Dikko, has been arrested by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Umaru Dikko was nabbed and whisked away to the EFCC's zonal office in Kaduna on Monday, October 11, while he was in a meeting with his staff.

Read also

Kaduna 2023: Governor El-Rufai reportedly reveals his anointed successor

It was reported that according to eyewitnesses, EFCC officials alongside some armed policemen accompanied the KASUPDA DG.

Obaseki finally appoints commissioners almost 1 year after re-election

In a related development, almost one year after he was re-elected for a second term as Edo state governor, Godwin Obaseki has finally appointed commissioners.

Since he was reelected in November 2020, Obaseki has been running the government without a cabinet.

However, on Tuesday, September 28, Osarodion Ogie, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), announced the names of the newly appointed commissioners, Legit.ng gathered.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel