BREAKING: Okpebholo Wins APC Governorship Primary Election in Edo

BREAKING: Okpebholo Wins APC Governorship Primary Election in Edo

  • The APC has declared Senator Monday Okpebholo (Edo Central) as its candidate for the forthcoming governorship election in Edo state
  • Governor Bassey Otu, the chairman of the electoral committee, declared Okpebholo after polling 12,433 votes to defeat Dennis Idahosa, who scored 6,541 votes
  • Okpebholo was one of the parallel candidates who emerged in the earlier primary conducted by Governor Hope Uzodinma before it was nullified

Benin, Edo - Senator Monday Okpebholo (Edo Central) has won the Edo All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship direct primary election.

Cross River Governor Bassey Otu, the chairman of the Edo APC shadow poll, declared him winner after collating results from the 18 local government areas.

Senator Monday Okpebholo wins Edo state APC governorship primary election
APC Edo governorship primary election result is out Photo Credit: Senator Monday Okpebholo
Source: Twitter

How APC Edo governorship candidate emerged

The collation and declaration were done Lushville Hotel and Suites, Gapiona Avenue, Government Reservation Area (GRA), Benin, The Nation reported.

Read also

Edo 2024: Confusion in PDP as Ighodalo, Shaibu emerge as party’s governorship candidate

Okpebholo polled 12,433 votes to defeat the representative of the Ovia constituency in the House of Representatives, Dennis Idahosa, who scored 6,541 votes.

Recall that the APC produced three candidates in an earlier primary conducted by Governor Hope Uzodinma of the Imo state-led committee on Saturday, February 17.

Three candidates who emerged from APC primary

Uzodinma's committee had announced Dennis Idahosa, a House of Representatives member, as the election winner.

However, Okpebholo was also declared winner by a returning officer for the election, which was held at the residence of the former governorship candidate of the party, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, in Benin.

Later on the same day, Ojo Babatunde, the spokesperson of the local government returning officers, announced Anamero Sunday Dekeri, the lawmaker representing the Etsako Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives, as the winner of the primary.

Read also

BREAKING: Ighodalo defeats Shaibu to clinch Edo PDP governorship ticket

The development led to a series of protests, and the APC national working committee nullified the election and inaugurated another committee chaired by Governor Otu.

Edo guber: Obaseki, Shaibu battle earlier reported the face-off between the camps of Governor Godwin Obaseki and his deputy, Philip Shaibu, ahead of the PDP governorship primary election in Edo.

The PDP and the APC are set to renew their rivalry in the state as they battle other political parties to produce Obaseki's successor.


Bada Yusuf avatar

Bada Yusuf (Politics and Current Affairs Editor) Yusuf Amoo Bada is an accomplished politics and current affairs editor, boasting over 7 years of experience in journalism and writing. He is a graduate of OAU, and holds Diploma in Mass Comm. and BA in Literature in English. He has obtained certificates in Leadership and received the "Certificate for Breakthrough of the Year 2022" in recognition of his great performance during his first year at Worked as Editor with OperaNews. Contact: or call 08161717844