Edo: Shaibu, Obaseki Set for Real Show in PDP After APC Fumbles

Edo: Shaibu, Obaseki Set for Real Show in PDP After APC Fumbles

  • The PDP will be holding its governorship primary in Edo state today, a day that looked like the real show between Governor Godwin Obasekin and his deputy, Philip Shaibu
  • Ten candidates in the PDP will be competing to secure the highest votes from the 563 delegates, just a few days after the APC had its fumbled primary
  • The APC had on Saturday produced three candidates in an election conducted by Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo state and nullified by the Abdullahi Ganduje-led NWC

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is set to hold its governorship primary in Edo state on Thursday, February 22, in what looks like a popularity test between Governor Godwin Obaseki and his deputy, Philip Shaibu.

The PDP is expected to produce its candidate for the forthcoming governorship election in the state at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin, with 563 delegates voting for ten aspirants.

Read also

BREAKING: Ighodalo defeats Shaibu to clinch Edo PDP governorship ticket

PDP governorship primary in Edo/Philip Shaibu knows fate today/Governor Obaseki competes with Shaibu/APC fumbles at Edo governorship primary
Shaibu, Obaseki's anointed candidate battles for PDP guber ticket as APC fumbles Photo Credit: Godwin Obaseki, Philip Shaibu
Source: Twitter

PDP governorship aspirants in Edo

Among the aspirants was the deputy governor of the state, Shaibu; a former Chairman of Sterling Bank, Asue Ighodalo, who was said to be the anointed candidate of Governor Obaseki; and Blessing Igbinedion, daughter of Esama of Benin Kingdom, Chief Gabriel Igbinedion, The Punch reported.

Other aspirants are Anselm Ojezua, Felix Akhabue, Martin Uhomoibhi, Hadizat Umoru, Omoregie Ogbeide-Ihama, Dr Earl Onaiwu and Arthur Esene.

This is barely a week since the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in the state produced three candidates.

How APC guber primary produces three candidates

Governor Hope Uzodinma, who led the APC committee, had announced Dennis Idahosa as the primary winner, but two other candidates later emerged.

The Abdullahi Ganduje-led national working committee of the APC subsequently nullified the election. It declared Governor Bassey Otu as the new chairman of the electoral committee, adding that the new primary will be conducted on the same day as that of the PDP.

Read also

“You tried to impose a candidate”: Fayemi reacts as Oshiomhole reveals Tinubu’s stance on Edo APC primary

In the PDP, Shaibu has been said to be a grassroots politician who is more fit for the job, but he could not secure the blessing of his boss, Governor Obaseki, which made the PDP primary much talked about.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel