Court Dismisses Banky W, Obanikoro’s Petition, Declares Thaddeus Attah, Winner of Eti-Osa Poll

Court Dismisses Banky W, Obanikoro’s Petition, Declares Thaddeus Attah, Winner of Eti-Osa Poll

  • Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party has been affirmed winner of the 2023 Eti-Osa federal constituency election
  • His victory was declared by the appellate court sitting in Tafawa Balewa Square on Thursday, November 11
  • The verdict also overturned the election tribunal's judgement for a re-run of the Eti-Osa federal constituency election journalist Segun Adeyemi has over 9 years of experience covering political events, civil society, courts, and metro

The appellate court has ruled against the judgment of the election petition tribunal that ordered the re-rum of the Eti-Osa federal constituency election.

The judgement was issued on Thursday, November 9, at the appeal court at the Tafawa Balewa Square in Lagos state.

LP, PDP, APC, Banky W, Thaddeus Attah, Babajide Obanikoro
A report confirmed that Thaddeus Attah was absent at the ruling on Thursday, November 11. Photo Credit: JT Atta Thaddeus
Source: Twitter

As reported by BBC pidgin, the case is between Bankole Wellington (Banky W) of the Peoples Democratic Party, Babajide Obanikoro of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Thaddeus Attah of the Labour Party (LP).

Read also

BREAKING: Appeal court gives verdict on suit seeking to disqualify Sylva from Bayelsa guber election

In its ruling, the appellate court affirmed LP's Thaddeus Attah as the winner of the Eti-Osa Federal Constituency seat for the House of Representatives.

Both Thaddeus and Bank W were a no-show in court.

The presiding judge ruled that the election petition tribunal was wrong to have ordered a re-run because the tendered evidence did not warrant such a ruling.

According to the judge, some of the witnesses presented by the petitioners were not in the affected polling units.

He also dismissed the petition that the elections were not held in some polling units, noting that the petitioners needed to prove that it affected the election outcome.

Obanikoro concedes defeat, congratulates Attah

After the ruling, the APC candidate, Obanikoro, stated that the judge did not look into the case thoroughly as expected.

Read also

BREAKING: Appeal Court delivers judgement on suit challenging Gov Mbah's victory, details surfaces

He said:

"Most of the things the judge said were contrary to what happened at the lower court. The documents that we tendered were from INEC. So, why would the court say that it is not genuine?
"The judge was lazy to go through all the documents that were presented to him and he took the easy way out. Let the NBA review all these kinds of cases because it is painful that the judge did not look at the case as he was supposed to."

Meanwhile, Obanikoro took to his official X handle to congratulate Attah on his victory at the appellate court.

He wrote:

"I would like to congratulate Representative Jude Thaddeus Attah on his victory at the appeal court today.
"Let's throw our support for him so that he would give us a good representation for the next four years in Eti-Osa."

Jubilation as PDP House of Reps member wins at Appeal Court

Read also

Afenifere condemns Supreme Court judgment, Tinubu's victory: “Electoral reforms wasted”

Meanwhile, the Imo state House of Reps member has emerged victorious at the Court of Appeal, Lagos state division.

In its judgment delivered on Wednesday, November 8, the appellate court upheld the election of Hon. Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere Ikeagwuonu.

Following the court's verdict, the PDP lawmaker's long legal battle has finally ended.


Segun Adeyemi avatar

Segun Adeyemi (Current Affairs and Politics Editor) Segun Adeyemi is a journalist with over 9 years of experience as an active field reporter, editor, and editorial manager. He has had stints with Daily Trust newspaper, Daily Nigerian, and News Digest. He currently works as an editor for's current affairs and politics desk. He holds a degree in Mass Communication (Adekunle Ajasin University). He is a certified digital reporter by Reuters, AFP and the co-convener of the annual campus journalism awards. Email:

Online view pixel