2023 Polls: INEC Releases List of States Where N/Assembly Election Will Be Repeated

2023 Polls: INEC Releases List of States Where N/Assembly Election Will Be Repeated

  • The outstanding house of assembly polls held on Saturday, February 25, will be re-conducted on Saturday, March 18
  • This development was made known by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
  • According to the electoral body, elections will be re-conducted in 15 states, across eight senatorial districts and 33 federal constituencies
  • FCT, Abuja - The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has revealed that there will be supplementary elections in 15 states for the national assembly elections that were conducted on Saturday, February 25.

PAY ATTENTION: See you at Legit.ng Media Literacy Webinar! Register for free now!

As reported by The Nation, there will be a repeat of the election in eight senatorial districts and 33 federal constituencies across all 15 states mapped out by INEC.

INEC, National Assembly, 2023 election
INEC announced that there would be a repeat of eight senatorial district elections and 33 federal constituency elections across 15 states. Photo: INEC
Source: Twitter

INEC confirmed that these elections would be conducted alongside the much-anticipated gubernatorial polls across 28 states slated for Saturday, March 18.

Read also

Gov’ship Polls: Anxiety as court orders INEC to upload results on IREV

It will be recalled that in Enugu state, there was no election in Enugu-east as earlier scheduled due to the demise of the Labour Party candidate a few days before the election day.

Elsewhere in Edo state, the election for Esan-Central, Esan-West/Igueben Federal constituency did not materialise due to omitted party logos in the ballot papers. While in Sokoto state, all three senatorial district election and 11 federal constituencies election was suspended by INEC.

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

Below is the list of states where elections will be repeated according to INEC.

Senatorial elections

1. Enugu East (Enugu)

2. Kebbi North (Kebbi).

3. Plateau Central (Plateau).

4. Yobe South (Yobe).

5. Zamfara Central (Zamfara).

6. Sokoto East, North and South (Sokoto)

House of Representatives

7. Akwa Ibom (Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika and Ikono/Ini).

8. Edo (Esan Central/Esan West/Igueben and Orhionmwon/Uhunmwode).

Read also

Legit Poll: Nigerians predict who will win 2023 governorship election in Kano state between APC and NNPP

9. Imo (Ikeduru/Mbaitoli and Isu/Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele).

10. Kano (Doguwa/Tudun Wada and Fagge).

11. Kebbi (Arewa/Dandi and Koko/Besse/Maiyoma).

12. Oyo (Ibadan Northeast/Ibadan Southeast and Oluyole).

13. Rivers (Gokana/Khana and Port Harcourt II).

14. Zamfara (Gummi/Bukkuyum and Gusau/Tsafe).

15. Taraba (Takum/Donga/Ussa); Kogi (Bassa/Dekina).

17. Jigawa (Gumel/Maigatari/Sule Tankarkar/Gagarawa).

18. Ebonyi (Ezza North/Ishielu); Bayelsa (Southern Ijaw) and Anambra (Igbaru).

INEC Chairman Releases Fresh Information Days After 2023 Presidential Poll

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has vowed to prosecute all those involved in electoral misconduct.

The assurance was given by the chairman of the commission Mahmood Yakubu at the end of a stakeholders' meeting.

Yakubu called on all political parties across the country to caution their members and supporters against any form of electoral offence during the Saturday, March 18, election.

2023 guber polls: INEC Completes BVAS Re-configuration

In another development, re-configuration of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) machines has been completed.

Read also

2023 governorship election in Oyo state: Nigerians predict who will win in Legit Poll

This crucial update was gotten from INEC officials who spoke with journalists on Tuesday, March 14.

The officials added that Nigerian Air Force is leading the airlift of the BVAS machines to where they will be deployed for Saturday, March 18, polls.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel