2023: Winner Finally Emerges After Oyo PDP Governorship Primary

2023: Winner Finally Emerges After Oyo PDP Governorship Primary

  • Governor Seyi Makinde on Wednesday, May 25, emerged as the winner of the Oyo state governorship primary
  • Governor Makinde floored his opponent, Hazeem Gbolarunmi, by claiming a total of 1,040 delegates' votes
  • The young governor is, therefore, the southwest state's flagbearer ahead of the 2023 general elections

Ibadan, Oyo - Governor Seyi Makinde, on Thursday, May 25, turned out to be the winner of the governorship primary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Oyo.

Makinde, at the primary election held in Ibadan, the state capital, claimed a total of 1,040 delegates' votes and thus floored Hazeem Gbolarunmi who managed to poll only two votes, Nigerian Tribune reports.

Governor Seyi Makinde
The governor floored his opponent by a wide margin (Photo: @seyimakinde)
Source: Twitter

Out of the total 1,048 votes cast, six were voided.

In his announcement, Ben Obi, the returning officer who was represented by Abdullahi MaiBasia, said Makinde is the PDP flagbearer ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Read also

Massive jubilation as state's speaker kneels in video to thank governor after emerging PDP guber candidate

PAY ATTENTION: Share your outstanding story with our editors! Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

Huge loss as prominent senator dumps PDP in Oyo state ahead of 2023

Meanwhile, Senator Kola Balogun, representing Oyo South senatorial district, resigned his membership in the PDP.

Balogun's exit from the PDP was contained in a statement signed by his media aide, Dapo Falade, on Monday evening, May 2, in Ibadan.

Legit.ng gathered that Balogun, a younger brother of the Olubadan of Ibadan, Oba Lekan Balogun, is the Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Sports and Youth Development.

Balogun denied PDP return ticket

It was learned that Senator Balogun’s resignation came a few days after he was denied a return ticket.

The ticket had been handed to Chief Joseph Tegbe, who recently defected to the PDP from All Progressives Congress (APC).

Ibrahim Danbaba: Influential senator dumps PDP, defects to APC

Read also

2023: Prominent APC chieftain woos Peter Obi to join ruling party

In a similar development, Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba dumped the PDP for the APC. This move was made known through a letter read by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan on Wednesday, April 27, during plenary.

According to Lawan, the senator has announced his decision to leave the opposition party, and join the ruling APC. The leadership of the senate confirmed Danbaba's defection through a letter read during plenary on Wednesday, April 27.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel