Oyedele dismisses southwest unity list, says he won't step down for Omisore

Oyedele dismisses southwest unity list, says he won't step down for Omisore

  • The consensus arrangement made by the southwest chapter of the APC at the party's convention appears to be having a setback
  • One of the aspirants, Engineer Ife Oyedele, said he was not a a party to the unity list and won't step down for anyone
  • Oyedele is contesting for the position of the national secretary which had allegedly been given to Senator Iyiola Omisore

Eagle Square, Abuja - Engineer Ife Oyedele has dismissed the southwest unity list distributed to journalists at the venue of the ongoing convention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at Eagle Square in Abuja.

Oyedele who is contesting for the position of national secretary said he was not a party to the list and won't stop down for the purported consensus candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore.

Ife Oyedele, southwest unity list, Iyiola Omisore, APC convention, national secretary
Engineer Oyedele said he won't step down for Senator Iyiola Omisore as they both contest for the national secretary position at the APC convention. Photo credit: @APCNatConv22
Source: Twitter

He told journalists at the convention ground:

Read also

Is it constitutional? Deputy Senate president speaks on Umahi's sack by court

''I am not aware of the list going round. I did not step down will never do so.''

Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

Yakubu Dogara withdraws from APC national deputy chairman race

In another related development, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Yakubu Dogara, has withdrawn from the race to be the APC national deputy chairman (north).

Dogara made his decision known in a letter circulated to journalists including a Legit.ng reporter at the ongoing national convention of the ruling party in Abuja.

He said his decision was borne out of the need to respect the decision of Governor Babagana Zulum of Borno state and Senator Kashim Shettima who both endorsed Senator Abubakar Kyari for the position.

Convention: APC leaders edged out Buni caretaker members Nnamani, Ahmed from Unity List

Read also

Senator Abdullahi Adamu finally emerges APC national chairman

Meanwhile, two members of the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), contesting for the National Working Committee (NWC) positions were missing from the final unity list of the party.

The missing names included that of former Senate president, Senator Ken Nnamani and former national youth leader, Barrister Ismail Ahmed.

Nnamani was reported to have lost his bid to be elected as deputy national chairman (south) to Chief Emma Enaukwu while Ahmed lost the national organizing secretary to Suleiman Argungu of Kebbi state.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel