2023: Ekiti APC Members Reject Fayemi’s Preferred Guber Candidate at National Convention

2023: Ekiti APC Members Reject Fayemi’s Preferred Guber Candidate at National Convention

  • The Ekiti Mandate Group has staged a protest at the ongoing All Progressives Congress national convention
  • Members of the group say Governor Kayode Fayemi has imposed an unpopular governorship candidate in the state
  • Ekiti state will be witnessing a governorship election later this year, in one of the off-cycle polls in the country

Eagles Square - Some members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) from Ekiti state on the platform of Ekiti Mandate Group have staged a protest at the ongoing national convention of the APC rejecting the primary election that produced Biodun Oyebanji as the party's governorship candidate.

Oyebamiji, who is said to be the anointed candidate of Governor Kayode Fayemi emerged the guber candidate after other aspirants boycotted the primary election.

Governor Fayemi facing huge opposition within his party at the APC national convention. Photo credit: @kfayemi
Source: Twitter

Staging a protest at the Eagle Square venue of the APC national convention, the Ekiti protesters in their hundreds were seen with placards bearing various inscriptions, calling on the party to recognise Eng. Kayode Ojo as the preferred choice to fly the party's governorship ticket.

Read also

2023: More setback for Atiku as southwest PDP rejects ex-VP's candidacy

Some of the inscriptions include; "Return our stolen mandate" "Kayode Ojo is our choice", "Governor Fayemi is killing APC in Ekiti state," "we reject imposition" among others.

Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through info@corp.legit.ng!

Speaking on behalf of the protesters, the convener of the Ekiti Mandate Group, Abiola Oludele Timilehin, threatened that if justice is not done his group will end the reign of APC in Ekiti state.

His words:

“We decided to create a scene here at the national convention of our party so as to call the attention of our leaders to the calamity that's about to befall our party in Ekiti if that kangaroo called primary election is not reversed.
“Recall that the state's governorship primary that was conducted on the 27th of February was reportedly marred by irregularities, which led most of the aspirants, including Engr. Kayode Ojo to call for its cancellation.

Read also

APC convention: Forum asks ruling party to screen aspirants thoroughly

“The aspirants had accused Governor Fayemi of manipulating the process in favour of his own anointed candidate, who was declared the winner of that kangaroo arrangement called primary election.
“Our party leaders and the incoming National Working Committee (NWC) members must note it that Ekiti real members are aggrieved and nothing will pacify them unless our preferred candidate in the person of Kayode Ojo is seen on the ballot.
“We, therefore, appeal to our leaders and the incoming NWC members to prioritise the need to urgently correct the injustice perpetrated by Governor Fayemi and his cohorts in Ekiti state before the governorship election to avoid the what happened to APC in Zamfara state, Rivers state, and Oyo state.”

APC convention unity list: Abia chieftains adopt Anyanwu, Okwudili as officials

Meanwhile, chieftains of the APC in Abia state have closed ranks and adopted Hon. Nduka Anyanwu as the party's national welfare officer.

Read also

Anxiety as APC fails to start screening aspirants 4 days to national convention

The ruling party chieftains also adopted Mr. Okoroafor Okwudili Peter as APC south-east zonal youth leader.

Political observers say the duo have always lent their voice to the APC interests in times of need to advance the course of the southeast region and the country in general.

APC convention: Six chairmanship aspirants step down for Abdullahi

In a related development, former governor of Benue state, Senator George Akume, has withdrawn from the national chairmanship race and endorsed Senator Abdullahi Adamu.

This latest development leaves Senator Adamu as the only contestant for the national chairmanship position.

Other contestants, Senator Mohammed Sani Musa, Senator Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, Abudulaziz Yari, Mallam Saliu Mustapha and Mohammed Saidu Etsu had earlier stepped down.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel