FCT Decides 2022: How APC, PDP Won and Lost as Final Results from Abuja’s 6 Area Councils Emerge

FCT Decides 2022: How APC, PDP Won and Lost as Final Results from Abuja’s 6 Area Councils Emerge

On Saturday, February 12, local elections were held in the six Area Councils of Abuja with the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and other political parties participating.

Premium Times reported that the final results for each of the Area Councils have been released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

FCT Decides 2022: Final Results from Abuja’s 6 Area Councils Emerge
INEC has declared results of at least four of the six Area Councils where chairmanship elections were conducted on Saturday, February 12. Photo credit: Nnenna Ibeh
Source: Original

The Area Councils are:

  1. Abaji
  2. Bwari
  3. Gwagwalada
  4. Kuje
  5. Kwali
  6. Abuja Municipal (AMAC).

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Area Councils won by APC

  1. Gwagwalada
  2. Kwali
  3. Abaji

How APC won Gwagwalada

The candidate of the APC Jubrin Abubakar, has been declared as the chairman-elect of Gwagwalada Area Council.

Abubakar, a former chairman of the council, defeated his opponent, Mohammed Kassim of the PDP by polling 11,125 votes.

Read also

FCT Decides 2022: How APC won Abaji Area Council with no candidate declared as winner, INEC reveals

His closest rival, Kassim of the PDP, polled 9,597 votes.

How APC won Kwali

INEC has declared the APC's Danladi Chiya as the winner of the Kwali Area Council chairmanship election.

Chiya defeated his closest rival, Haruna Pai of the PDP to win the election.

According to the INEC Returning Officer for Kwali Area Council, Wesley Daniel, Chiya polled 7,646 votes while Pai garnered 7,345 votes.

Chiya who is the council’s incumbent chairman will now serve his second term in office.

How APC won Abaji

INEC has declared the APC winner of the chairmanship election in Abaji area council.

Daily Trust reported that the INEC returning officer of the council election in at Abaji, Prof Gabriel Mordi, announced the result.

He declared that APC scored 7, 289 votes to defeat the candidate of the opposition PDP, Alhaji Yahaya Garba Gawu, who got 4, 062 votes.

Read also

FCT area council poll: APC candidate, Jubrin Abubakar wins Gwagwalada, declared as chairman-elect

Prof Mordi, said the winner will be announced after the determination of the case before the court in Abuja.

It was gathered that an APC chairmanship aspirant in the area, Abubakar Umar Abdullahi, had filed a suit before Supreme court, after an FCT High court and Appeal court has nulified his candidature and declared Alhaji Mohammed Angulu Loko, as the authentic chairmanship candidate of the APC.

Both the FCT High court and Appeal had ordered INEC to withdraw Abubakar Umar Abdullahi’s name and replace it with Alhaji Mohammed Angulu Loko, as the APC chairmanship candidate.

Area Councils won by PDP

  1. Kuje
  2. Bwari
  3. AMAC

How PDP won Kuje Area Council

INEC declared Suleman Sabo of the PDP the winner of the Kuje Area Council chairmanship election in the Federal Capital Territory.

Legit.ng gathers that Sabo is the council’s incumbent chairman and will now serve his second term in office.

Read also

FCT area council election: PDP wins Kuje chairmanship poll

He defeated the other five candidates in each of the 10 wards in the area council.

Sabo polled a total of 13,301 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sarki Hamidu of the APC who secured 7,694 votes to emerge second.

Sule Magaji, the INEC Returning Officer for the Kuje Area Council election, announced the final results on Sunday morning, February 13.

How PDP defeated APC in Bwari

PDP's John Gabaya has also been declared the chairman-elect of Bwari Area Council.

He was re-elected for a second two-year term by polling 13,045 votes to defeat his closest rival, Audi Shekwolo of the APC who had 7,697 votes.

PDP floors APC to win AMAC chairmanship election

Christopher Zakka (Maikalangu) of the PDP defeated his closest rival, Murtala Karshi (Yamarayi) of the APC and 10 others, to win the election.

It was learnt that Zakka polled 19,302 votes while Karshi secured 13,249 votes.

Read also

FCT area council elections: APC reconciles party chieftains ahead of polls

The PDP won in 10 wards while the APC won in only two.

The APC and the PDP won in three area councils each.

FCT elections: It took me two hours on rollers to get to my polling unit - Auwal Muhammad

Earlier, Legit.ng reported that some persons living with disability decried the challenges faced in accessing their polling units and areas during the FCT area council elections.

This comes as several organisations have also called on the Nigerian government to ensure they work with relevant stakeholders to provide voting processes and platforms that fit all.

For Auwal Muhammad, a 42-year-old who sells recharge cards and chargers for mobile phones, the voting process for him was a herculean task.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel