Breaking: Oyetola wins Osun APC governorship primary election

Breaking: Oyetola wins Osun APC governorship primary election

Ahead of the September 22 governorship election in Osun state, Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola has emerged as the flag bearer for All Progressives Congress (APC). gathered that Gboyega emerged winner of the party’s first-ever direct primary by polling 127, 017 votes to beat Yusuff Lasun,who recorded 21, 975 votes.

Najeem Salaam, the Speaker of the Osun state House of Assembly, occupied third place with 17, 958 votes.

READ ALSO: Ekiti election: UK condemns alleged vote buying

Senator Ovie Omo-Agege announcing the results at about 10:45 pm on Friday, July 20, at the party’s secretariat in Osogbo said: ”Having won the majority votes, I declared Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola as the official flag bearer for the Sept. 22 governorship election.”

The APC candidate who is the current chief of staff to outgoing governor, Rauf Aregbesola, was one of 17 aspirants who participated in the exercise.

Some of the other aspirants included the deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yusuff, and Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly, Dr Najeem Salam.

Others included Ezekiel Oyemomi, Saka Layonu, Abdulgafar Amere, and Kunle Adegoke. previously reported that two governorship aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have dropped their bid to contest for the party’s ticket in the coming governorship election in Osun state.

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News Anywhere 24/7. Spend less on the Internet!

The affected aspirants include the secretary to the Osun state government (SSG), Moshood Adeoti, as well as the chairman of local government service commission, Peter Babalola, Channels TV reports.

Both candidates were reported to have announced their withdrawal shortly before the APC primary election started on Friday, July 20.

Ekiti State REC Reveals How INEC Will Stop Rigging In Forthcoming Election | TV


Mailfire view pixel