US Releases Names of ‘Religious Intolerant’ Countries (Full List)

US Releases Names of ‘Religious Intolerant’ Countries (Full List)

The United States Department of State has released names of countries it designed as religious intolerant. Chiefly among these countries are Saudi Arabia, China, Iran, Pakistan among others.

PAY ATTENTION: How media literate are you? Click to take a quiz – bust fake news with!

This was disclosed in a statement issued by Antony Blinken, US secretary of state titled: "Religious Freedom Designations."

In December 2020, the US had listed Nigeria among countries blacklisted for “violating religious freedom”.

Religious intolerant countries revealed
Names of 'religious intolerant' countries have been released by the US. Photo credit: Joe Biden
Source: UGC

However, a year later, Nigeria was removed from the list.

Blinken in a statement categorised the list according to the severity of the actions of the said countries.

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

Religious intolerant countries according a release by US Department of States.

  1. Burma
  2. The Peoples Republic of China
  3. Cuba
  4. Eritrea
  5. Iran
  6. Nicaragua
  7. The DPRK
  8. Pakistan
  9. Russia
  10. Saudi Arabia
  11. Tajikistan
  12. Turkmenistan

Special watch list

  1. Algeria
  2. The Central African Republic
  3. Comoros
  4. Vietnam

Entities of particular concern

  1. Al-Shabab
  2. Boko Haram
  3. Hayat Tahrir al-Sham
  4. The Houthis
  5. ISIS-Greater Sahara
  6. ISIS-West Africa
  7. Jama’at Nusrat al-Islam wal-Muslimin
  8. The Taliban
  9. The Wagner Group

Part of Blinken statement added:

"Our announcement of these designations is in keeping with our values and interests to protect national security and to advance human rights around the globe. Countries that effectively safeguard this and other human rights are more peaceful, stable, prosperous and more reliable partners of the United States than those that do not.
“We will continue to carefully monitor the status of freedom of religion or belief in every country around the world and advocate for those facing religious persecution or discrimination. We will also regularly engage countries about our concerns regarding limitations on freedom of religion or belief, regardless of whether those countries have been designated.
“We welcome the opportunity to meet with all governments to address laws and practices that do not meet international standards and commitments, and to outline concrete steps in a pathway to removal from these lists.”

US Senate passes landmark bill protecting same-gender marriage

Meanwhile, following the abolition of aborti*n by the United States Supreme Court, the US Senate, in a bid to avoid the dissolution of same-gender marriage, passed a bill protecting it.

The bill was passed on Tuesday, November 29, at the senate following a unanimous vote from both the ruling and opposition party lawmakers.

Confirming the passage of the bill, United States President Joe Biden said:


Online view pixel