Final Results Emerge As INEC Announces Winner of Yobe East Senatorial Election

Final Results Emerge As INEC Announces Winner of Yobe East Senatorial Election

  • The All Progressives Congress has defeated the PDP in the Yobe East senatorial election
  • On Sunday, February 4, INEC released the final results, and APC's Musa Mustapha emerged victorious
  • Mustapha scored 68,778 to defeat Aji Kolomi, the PDP candidate, who got 18,878 votes in the bye-election, which was held Saturday journalist Esther Odili has over two years of experience covering political parties and movements.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday, February 4, declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Musa Mustapha, as the winner of the Yobe East senatorial bye-election held on Saturday, February 3.

Musa Mustapha, Yobe East Senatorial by-election
Musa Mustapha won the Yobe East senatorial by-election. Photo credit: Musa Mustapha
Source: Facebook

As reported by Nigerian Tribune, INEC's returning officer, Professor Ibrahim Ahmed Jajere, declared in Damaturu, Sunda, that Mustapha scored 68,778 votes to defeat Aji Kolomi, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got 18,878 votes.

Read also

Kaduna: Sacked speaker reclaims assembly seat in rerun election

The returning officer said the total votes cast were 90,949, with valid ones being 88,771, while 2,178 votes were rejected, Daily Independent reported.

Prof. Jajere said:

“Hon. Musa Mustapha of the All Progressives Congress (APC), having scored the highest number of votes cast and having satisfied the requirements of the law, has been declared the winner of the Yobe East Bye-Election.”

Who is Musa Mustapha?

Musa Mustapha, popularly known as Coolers, is a traditional title holder of Dan Amana with ancient Fika Emirate Council Potiskum.

He served in various capacities. He was formerly executive secretary of the Yobe State Scholarship Board, Damaturu, former commissioner of finance, transport and energy before resigning to contest to replace Senator Ibrahim Geidam, who was appointed minister of police affairs by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Read also

Rerun: PDP loses as INEC announces winner of Nasarawa assembly seat

Yobe bye-election: Boko Haram attacks collation centre

Earlier, reported that two people were reportedly killed as elements of the terrorist group Boko Haram invaded the election collation centre at Kuareta along Damaturu-Maiduguri Road, Yobe state capital.

The state security adviser to the Yobe state government, Major-General Dahiru Abdulsalam (Rtd), confirmed the development.

According to him, the attack occurred in the early hours of Sunday, February 4, during the collation of results for the Yobe East Senatorial bye-election held on Saturday, February 3, by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


Online view pixel