Jubilation as Powerful Ex-deputy Gov, 2 Other PDP Chieftains Join APC

Jubilation as Powerful Ex-deputy Gov, 2 Other PDP Chieftains Join APC

  • Former Niger state deputy governor and ex-Nigerian Ambassador to South Africa, Ahmed Musa Ibeto, and two other top stalwarts of the PDP have dumped the party and moved to the ruling APC
  • Ibrahim Egbo, a former federal lawmaker, and Alhaji Abubakar Azozo, erstwhile Niger state commissioner of water resources, were the other two politicians who left the PDP for the APC
  • Ibeto, who presented himself and the other two others at the state APC secretariat in Minna, hinged their decision on the purposeful leadership style of Governor Mohammed Umar Bago

Legit.ng journalist Ridwan Adeola Yusuf has over 6-year-experience covering politics and elections in Nigeria

Minna, Niger state - A former deputy governor of Niger state, Ahmed Musa Ibeto, has left the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Read also

BREAKING: Appeal Court finally releases CTC of Kano judgement, details emerge

Ibeto officially left the party alongside two other top PDP chieftains in the northcentral state on Tuesday, November 21.

APC/APC news/apc news today/apc news now
APC becomes stronger as APC bigwigs team up with ruling party. Photo credit: @bago2027
Source: Twitter

Ex-Niger deputy governor defects to APC

According to Nigerian Tribune, the two other party chieftains are Ibrahim Ebo, former member house of representatives representing Lapai/Agaie federal constituency; and Abubakar Azozo, ex-Niger state commissioner for water resources.

Addressing newsmen at the APC secretariat in Minna, Niger state capital, where he presented himself to party officials, Ibeto said he was motivated by the leadership style of Governor Mohammed Umar Bago, the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) reported.

Malam Mohammed Nma Kolo, an aide to Bago, explained that the style of leadership of the governor, coupled with good governance is what has been attracting many people to APC.

Read also

Just in: Senate appoints Abba Moro minority leader

Meanwhile, all three defectors have presented their letters of resignation from PDP at the ward level to the state chapter of their new party, APC.

Ifeanyi Ubah joins APC

In a piece of related news, Legit.ng reported that Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah, the lawmaker representing Anambra South Senatorial District, dumped the Young Progressives Party (YPP) for the APC.

Senator Ubah, who was elected for a second term in February 2023 under the YPP, attributed the move to the insurmountable disagreements within the party.

Segun Oni’s running mate joins APC

Legit.ng also reported that Ladi Owolabi, a running mate to Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) in the 2023 governorship poll in Ekiti state, joined the ruling APC.

Owolabi joined the APC in his ward in Ado-Ekiti on Thursday, September 21.

Source: Legit.ng

Ridwan Adeola avatar

Ridwan Adeola (Current Affairs Editor) Ridwan Adeola Yusuf is a Current Affairs Editor at Legit.ng and a certified journalist with over 9 years of experience. He edited Politics Nigeria's articles, was the Acting Editor of AllNews Nigeria and Fact-Checking Researcher (Africa Check). He received his HND in Mass Communication from The Polytechnic Ibadan. He received a Certificate of Achievement (Journalism Clinic’s Fix The Leak masterclass, 2021) and also completed Google News Initiative's Advance digital reporting curriculum. Contact him at ridwan.adeola@corp.legit.ng.

Online view pixel