Tajudeen Abbas: 5 Senior APC Lawmakers Who Have Declared War Against Tinubu And Why

Tajudeen Abbas: 5 Senior APC Lawmakers Who Have Declared War Against Tinubu And Why

The All Progressives Congress (APC) might have thought of bringing an end to the debate on who will be the speaker of the House of Representatives on its side when it announced Tajudeen Abbas from Kaduna as its nominee for the position.

However, the roof of the party appeared to be boiling with invisible fire as 5 senior lawmakers vowed the challenge the choice of the party in the 10th assembly leadership race.

Bola Tinubu/APC/House of Reps/Speaker/Alhassan Doguwa/Tajudeen Abbas
List of lawmakers against Tinubu's candidate for the speakership Photo Credit: Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Source: Twitter

Recall that Felix Morka, the national publicity secretary of the APC, in a statement on Monday, announced that the decision was made following consultation with Bola Tinubui, the president-elect.

Shortly after the release, the 5 senior lawmakers, led by the current deputy speaker, Idris Wase, vowed to challenge the APC's choice for the House of Representatives speaker's position.

Read also

10th National Assembly speakership: NDF condemns APC's appointment of principal officers, gives reasons

Below are the details of the candidates:

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

Idris Wase

He is the current deputy speaker of the 9th Nigeria House of Representatives. He has declared interest in contesting for the position of speaker of the 10th assembly.

The Plateau-born politician is a graduate of the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, United States, and has held many political positions.

Muktar Betara

Betare is a lawmaker representing the Biu/Bayo/Shani and Kwaya Kusar Federal Constituency of Borno State in the northeast.

He was first elected as a lawmaker in the House of Representatives in 2007.

Sada Soli

Soli, who had worked as a civil servant in the national assembly for 14 years before joining politics in 2007, is representing the Jibia/Kaita federal constituency in Katsina state.

Read also

BREAKING: Ben Kalu withdraws from Speakership race, reveals next step

He had declared interest in leading the Green Chamber in the 10th national assembly that will be inaugurated next month.

Alhassan Doguwa

Doguwa is the current majority leader of the House of Representatives, who has also joined the race for the speaker of the next assembly and is part of those setting the stage against Tinubu.

The lawmaker representing the Doguwa/Tudunwada Federal Constituency of Kano is currently facing a murder case over the allegation of killing 3 people during the February 25 presidential and national assembly election.

Aminu Sani Jaji

He is the former chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Intelligence and internal security and has declared interest in becoming the leader of the house that will be inaugurated in June.

The 49-year-old Jaji, representing the Kaura Namoda/Birnin Magaji federal constituency of Zamfara State, will be returning to the Green Chamber for the second term when the house is inaugurated next month.

Read also

Just in: Tinubu to embark on another foreign trip? Aide reveals truth

Senate presidency: Economic, 1 other reason Tinubu goes for Akpabio

Legit.ng earlier reported that the ruling APC had zoned the senate presidency to the south-south and announced Godswill Akpabio as its preferred candidate for the number 3 seat of Nigeria's leadership.

Akpabio's nomination is against the expectation of many political pundits who have tipped candidates from the southeast for the position.

However, Tinubu's preference for Akpabio and the south-south could be traced to political and economic factors.

Source: Legit.ng

Online view pixel