BREAKING: 27 State Assemblies Finally Forward Constitutional Amendment Bills to NASS

BREAKING: 27 State Assemblies Finally Forward Constitutional Amendment Bills to NASS

  • The Senate earlier urged the 36 state Houses of Assembly to pass their constitutional amendment bills in the interest of Nigerians
  • In a recent development, 27 states forwarded their resolutions on 35 constitutional amendments to the National Assembly
  • The Senate, which confirmed the development on Tuesday, January 24, urged the nine remaining states to fulfill their constitutional obligation

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!

On Tuesday, January 24, 2023, 27 State Houses of Assembly forwarded their resolutions on 35 constitutional amendment bills to the National Assembly.

The Senate has consequently directed the Clerk of the National Assembly to transmit the 35 constitutional amendment bills, that have so far met the requirement of the provision of section 9(2) of the constitution, to President Muhammadu Buhari for assent, a report by Channels TV confirmed.

Read also

There will be chaos if deadline to stop collection of old naira notes is not extended, senate tells CBN

Twenty-seven State Houses of Assembly, resolutions on 35 constitution amendment bills, National Assembly, Nigerian Senate
Senate has confirmed that 27 State Houses of Assembly have forwarded their constitutional amendment bills to NASS. Photo credit: Nigerian Senate
Source: Facebook

NASS tasks remaining states

The upper chamber also asked the nine remaining state Houses of Assembly that are yet to forward their resolutions on the constitutional amendment bills to do so to fulfill their constitutionally imposed legislative obligation.

PAY ATTENTION: Subscribe to Digital Talk newsletter to receive must-know business stories and succeed BIG!

List of states yet to submit constitutional amendment

The state Houses of Assembly yet to forward their resolutions to the National Assembly are Gombe, Jigawa, Kebbi, Kwara, Oyo, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, and Zamfara states.

Old Naira Notes: Extend Deadline by 6 Months to Avoid Chaos, Senate Urges CBN

In another development, the Senate and the House of Representatives, in a separate statement, have called for the extension of the deadline set by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) as the expiration date for the old N200, N500 and N1000 notes.

Read also

2023 elections: Buhari picks ex-IGP as Police Service Commission boss, appoints more RECs

The two legislative chambers of Nigeria's National Assembly are asking the apex bank to extend the deadline by six months.

The green chamber reached the conclusion after a motion moved by Sada Soli who noted that the policy must not be overbearing on Nigerians if it is going to be successful.

2023 elections: Senate President Lawan finally reveals presidential candidate North should vote for reported earlier that the President of the Senate, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, urged the Northern region to vote for the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, in the forthcoming 2023 general election.

Lawan spoke on Monday, January 23, at the APC presidential rally in Bauchi state which was attended by the candidate, President Muhammadu Buhari, state governors and other party stalwarts.

This was disclosed in a statement sent to by Abdulaziz Abdulaziz, a member of the Tinubu Media Office.


Online view pixel