Lawan’s 24 Years of Political Dominance Faces Big Threat As INEC Locks Door Against APC

Lawan’s 24 Years of Political Dominance Faces Big Threat As INEC Locks Door Against APC

  • Senate President Ahmed Lawan has failed to make up INEC's final list of the senatorial candidates from Yobe state
  • Lawan, and Godswill Akpabio from Akwa Ibom have been in the same shoe after contesting for the APC presidential ticket, where Bola Tinubu emerged as the winner
  • The Yobe-born senator has been in the house of assembly since 1999 and his failure to secure the ticket in court would mark the end of over 2 decades of legislative relevance

Damaturu, Yobe - Ahmed Lawan, the Nigerian senate president, has finally lost out in his bid to return to the senate chamber as his name is being omitted from the final list of candidates for the 2023 presidential and national assembly election.

This was as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) published the name of Godswill Akpabio as the party’s candidate for Akwa Ibom Northwest senatorial district, Vanguard reported.

Read also

APC Yobe senatorial ticket: 2 crucial reason court ruled in favour of Machina against Lawan

Lawan/Mahmoud Yakubu/Abdullahi Adamu/INEC/APC/2023 elections/Yobe state
Lawan loses bid to return to senate Photo Credit: Ahmed Lawan, INEC Nigeria
Source: Facebook

How did Lawan lose his senatorial ticket?

Akpabio and Lawan contested for the presidential ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC). While Akpabio stepped down for Bola Tinubu, Lawan lost to Bola Tinubu.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram - get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

The due have gone to their state to jostle for the senatorial ticket of their district. While Akpabio was able to have his way and made the list, Lawan met his waterloo.

The senate president, who did not participate in the Yobe North senatorial primary of the APC, has been at loggerhead with the winner of the primary, Bashir Machina, who has declined to step down for Lawan.

The APC has insisted that Lawan is his candidate for the Yobe North senatorial district, but INEC has insisted that its officials did not observe the election that produced the senate president as the candidate of the party for the district.

Read also

2023 election: Court Finally Decides Fate of Lawan, Gives Fresh Directive to APC, INEC

When was Lawan first elected into national assembly?

Lawan has been in the house of assembly since 1999, when Nigeria returned to the democratic system after many years of civilian rule disruption.

He was elected into the house of representatives for the northern state of Yobe in 1999. At different times, the political warlord chaired the house committee on education and Agriculture.

The Yobe-born politician was first elected into the senate in 2007, where he rose to the position of senate president in 2019.

INEC takes final decision on staff who sworn an affidavit in favour of Lawan earlier reported that INEC has disowned an unnamed staff who has reportedly sworn an affidavit on the crisis at the Yobe North senatorial district.

The commission's spokesperson, Festus Okoye, reiterated the position of INEC that the report of its monitoring team remains valid and determines its decision.

Read also

2023: Names of top politicians Atiku dishes out juicy positions to ahead of campaigns

The APC has submitted the name of the senate president, Ahmed Lawan in which Bashir Machina was announced the winner of the primary, but the court document showed that the staff confirmed another primary was conducted, and Lawan won.


Online view pixel